We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A Really Lovely Lodge” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Emakoko

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Emakoko
Ranked #2 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Cairo
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Really Lovely Lodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

I visited the Emakoko on December 29th 2012, staying just one night before a horse riding safari. Unfortunately my flight was very delayed which was a real shame as I would have loved to have stayed longer in this lovely lodge. However the short time I spent was super; I was 'meeted and greeted' by Elizaban at the airport and driven straight to the lodge where I enjoyed an excellent lunch. Even though I was really only ready for a rest I went for a game drive in the afternoon where I had my best sighting of a Serval cat to date, an unexpected bonus with pictures to prove it! Back at the lodge my room was excellent; I did not mind a climb as the view was worth it! Plenty of space, a very comfortable bed and a bath overlooking the valley (plus giraffe!). Emma was a warm and gracious hostess and made me feel very welcome. Indeed all the staff were great and treated me very well. The food was very good and the lodge catered very well for me as a vegetarian. I would not hesitate to recommend the Emakoko to people visiting Nairobi, just be sure to give yourself enough time to really enjoy the Emakoko experience!

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank LucyGamoosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
63
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Anton and Emma, thank you for creating Emakoko. What an amazing piece of paradise..Every part of our stay was great, starting from the beautiful view from our very comfortable room,the terrific staff and service, delicious meals (my kids loved the food), chilling in the afternoons with a baby Impala for company, fun game drives especially the one with Anton and most of all, you two. Location is perfect and right within Nairobi National Park so you can avoid the crazy traffic from the airport when you arrive into the city. Close to Wilson Airport to connect to all the flights for safaris within Kenya and also easy access to the Sheldrick Elephant Orphanage and Giraffe Park. We will surely be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ash L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

First and foremost I must state that for all the time my wife and I have been on safari,we have never experienced the kind of hospitality we got when we stayed in this property.
Right from the airport we were met by Sylvester who was our driver guide throuhout the time we spent in Emakoko,he was a soft spoken guy whose defensive driving skills,knowledge of the wildlife in the nairobi park and knowledge of the international current affairs made us very happy during our stay.he took us to the elephant orphanage and to the city centre for shopping and here we were left speechless how he was manouvering with alot of ease in a very bad traffic without any incident while at the same time informing us about Nairobi though we were informed later on by Anton that Syl was a driving trainer before coming to work for the lodge.
The rooms,food are excellent and other staff members are also very friendly and helpful.
we take this opportunity to reccommend this lodge for anybody who wants total piece of mind and the finest Kenyan hospitality!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Safmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Echo, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

This absolute gem sits across a foot bridge from the Nairobi National Park. It is accessible from the park itself or the road outside the park and they will pick you up at the airport or elsewhere in Nairobi. The setting is fabulous with animals from the area visiting. Each house is beautifully appointed, the staff is highly engaged in making one feel comfortable, food is excellent. Compared to the hubbub of the city, this gem offers the views and sounds of nature and Nairobi as it was. The hotel is new but the design and appointments give one the feeling of absolute peace. After a long flight or a day of business and traffic, this is the perfect place to stay as a gateway to a longer trip into Kenya or as a place for meeting a quiet.

Room Tip: All rooms have a gorgeous view and mine had a view from the marvelous bath tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Searcher59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Emakoko is absolutely superb. I travel a lot through Africa and for a city destination this cannot be beaten. The food, accommodations, service and management are second to none. I awoke in the morning to the roar of a lion in the distance and had breakfast watching bushbuck and impala 50 yards away.I wish I had stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingcampbells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is a wonderful lodge in Nairobi Park just outside the city of Nairobi. You will think you are in a nature reserve and you are!!! The traffic in Nairobi is legendary - and terrible and at Emakoko you can escape almost all of it (and get to the airports on time). Anton and Emma make you feel right at home. Food is certainly gourmet and served in a lovely dining area. You can watch birds and wildlife right from your private balcony. This is the elegant way to escape the city and there are game drives as well. We saw rhino, buffalo, impala, lion, giraffe, etc all just driving into and out of the lodge. We have stayed in many game lodges in Africa and this is a match for any of them and a great way to start or end a Safari if you are flying out of Wilson Airport or Jomo Kenyatta. You can really get stuck in traffic at times with the city hotels.

There is also a lovely pool although we did not partake of that. They can arrange activities for you. We went shopping to some of the craft shops and also went to the Sheldrick Elepant Orphan's Project which is in the Park.

Room Tip: It appeared to us that all rooms overlook the reserve and all balconies would have a good view. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at the Emakoko at the beginning and end of our safari trip and would recommend it to anyone staying overnight in Nairobi. We were a bit cautious passing through Nairobi since it was our first time in Kenya, but this place made it quite enjoyable.
We were fortunate enough to have our safari company recommend this place to us because it was an absolutely perfect way to start our trip to the bush - the location, accommodations, and staff could not be better. We were greeted at the airport by Elizabon and were able to enjoy a mini game drive en route to the lodge through Nairobi National Park, then warmly welcomed by Anton, Emma, and the whole staff. We were also lucky to get a a private game drive as the sun went down, along with many Tuskers and wine. Dinner was spectacular, and the staff couldn't be nicer - we were treated like family.
We stopped in for a day room at the end of our trip and again were met with the same warm welcome as the first time through, as if we were family...it was like coming home. Our only regret is that we didn't have enough time here since we could have easily stayed for a few days longer. If our future travels take us back through eastern Africa, we will make it a point to stay at the Emakoko again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#5 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#15 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ololo Safari Lodge
Ololo Safari Lodge
#3 of 190 in Nairobi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Emakoko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emakoko

Property: The Emakoko
Address: P.O.Box 738 | Uhuru Gardens, Nairobi 00517, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emakoko is a 20 bed lodge bordering Nairobi national park, only 25 minutes from all the main city airports & attractions. The Emakoko allows people to start and finish their safari in the wild environment they have travelled to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Jovago.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Emakoko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing