We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“What an introduction.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Emakoko

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Emakoko
Ranked #2 of 181 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What an introduction.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

What a fabulous introduction to Kenya and our safari. With an extra day to wait for someone's arrival our agent suggested Emakoko instead of hotel in Nairobi. Brilliant. Newton met us at airport and guided us through Nairobi national park during our stay. In 24 hours we saw a wealth of wildlife. He also took us to Sheldrick elephant orphanage, the Giraffe Center and also Kazuri Beads. I highly recommend each one. Newton has a wide range of experience. We learned so much from him. The lodge was breathtaking. Impossible that it is so close to the city. Our hosts were Rachel and Chris and Tony. We felt so at home our whole stay. Food was plentiful and delicious. Our cottages were spacious and comfortable. Not one thing could have been improved upon. What a start to a most incredible trip. Thank you Newton and Emakoko.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
59
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

My colleagues and I visited The Emakoko on 26th July.We were picked at KWS gates by Driver Newton. He is a gem.He went stopping for us to see the wild animals. Inside Emakoko,we were met by Emma and her husband. The staff were very friendly and the environment is quite soothing.
Emakoko experience is one to long for and will surely go back there.
Emmas dog is also very beautiful.
Emakoko experience is worth the investment. Will surely go back there.

Rebecca-Equity bank Head office

Room Tip: all the rooms have a great view of the park and the Mbagathi River
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky1973Nairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We had the great fortune to end our safari in such a special place. Our hosts Anton and Emma and the staff were gracious and welcoming. The lodge is just on the edge of Nairobi National Park yet only 20 minutes from the airpot. Its furnishings are truly elegant with large luxurious cottage style rooms, a beautiful pool, and an open dining room that overlooks the park. The food and drinks were excellent and made us regret only spending one night. Although in the center of Nairobi the magical feel of the lodge causes one to believe that they are still isolated in a national park such as the Serengeti or Maasai Mara. This young lodge is a must stay place in Kenya and has a bright future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sftravelers83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

I want to share this new camp with you. It is only about 20 minutes from the international airport of Nairobi, so very convenient if you arrive in the evening. You don´t have to drive 45 minutes to a city hotel (during the day there are major traffic jams from the airport to the city - up to 2 hours...). So The Emakoko solves that problem. Sometimes you just know when something will become a success. The Emakoko is one of these special places. This intimate camp overlooks the Nairobi National Park. There is no physical border with the park, it is just on the other side over the ´river´ (rather a small stream). Everything is done very stylish. There are 10 spacious rooms; 5 on the same level as the lounge (all very private), and the other 5 are situated on top of the cliff. All the rooms share the same view on the park. It feels like you are in a little valley, so you don´t have the view over the plains of the park. Something you have to know is the the steps are quite big, and if you are staying at the rooms at the top, it is some effort to get there. So not ideal for people with walking disabilities. Although the first room left from the central area would be ideal for people with walking difficulties (and wheelchair friendly). The rooms are nice and spacious and there is a big nice bathtub. I think The Emakoko is really great for the high end traveller, and a nice way to start your trip. Even if you arrive in the evening when it is dark, it is so nice to wake up the next morning surrounded by nature. As this will most probably your first stop, it is so nice to be welcomed by a traditional Masai warrior. The owners Emma and Anthony have so much experience in the tourism industry, they really know what they are doing. Btw... there is also internet access. Prety convenient.

Room Tip: Depending on how fit you are. All rooms have a nice view. If you really like your privacy, then book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristien L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Simply fantastic. Had just one night and it was one of the best lodges that I have stayed in since moving to Kenya. It is in a stunning location with the park just on the other side of the river. Within less than 24 hours we saw buffalo, giraffe, crocodiles, baboons and a whole host of gorgeous birds. The rooms are done to an incredibly high standard, with such wonderful attention to detail, including guide books to animals in the rooms, and sumptuous wash products. The bathroom looked over the plains opposite, so in the evening I was able to indulge in a long held dream of bathing whilst looking out into the national park - it doesn't get more special than that. Or at least not until dinner! Wow... The food was incredible. We were served steak with a blue-cheese and mushroom sauce and all the trimmings. I love my food and this was one of the best meals I have had in Africa, and possibly one of my top 10 steaks I have ever had. The rooms are incredibly comfortable, and it would have been hard to drag myself out of the gorgeous bed had it not been for the tea and coffee served to our room along with freshly baked biscuits in the morning. Breakfast didn't disappoint, with all manor of fresh fruits, home-made granola, fresh smoothies, pancakes and cooked breakfast made to order. The owners Emma and Anton and wonderful, and the staff are attentive and help to make your stay all you could wish for. We only got to stay one night, but I can't wait till we can stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Emakoko is a stunning lodge on the edge of the Nairobi Park. A beautiful pool, very good service and incredible food! The managers Anton and Emma Childs have created a very welcoming and relaxing feel to the lodge.

We heard lions roaring on the other side of the river before going to bed, making such an incredible lodge at is so close to the International Airport and to the city.

Thanks for a great time.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johnnie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

I spend too many bed nights every year in Luxury Hotels to be easily overwhelmed and my jaded hotel experiences dont lend themselves to an ecstatic review. This is the exception. The new Emakoko Safari Lodge, neatly juxtapositioned between Nairobi airport and the town is something very very special. Small, very luxurious and ideally positioned on the edge of the Nairobi Game Park it is the ideal start to a safari holiday or break if you are working in Nairobi.
The hosts, Emma and Anthony Childs, are experienced safari camp mnagers enthused by their own lodge, The food is excellent. Coming off the late London BA flight, we were greeted by a wonderful soup and cold antipasto. Next day breakfast and dinner were simple but to a rather higher standard than we have found in other game lodges, The individual chalets were enormous and looked out over the Nairobi Game Park. Everything was of a high standard and all of the staff were friendly and efficient. The Nairobi Game Park is generally underestimated. Emma and Anthony's knowledgable guide pointed us to a very wide variety of animals. The park is compact and affords an ideal first safari experience. We.have stayed at The Giraffe Manor and Waine;s before. Both are good but this is something else. We cannot recommend it too highly.

Room Tip: Choose cabit close to main lodge and avoid steep hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 330 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
0.0 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#11 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#7 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,114 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ole Sereni
Ole Sereni
#17 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Emakoko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emakoko

Property: The Emakoko
Address: P.O.Box 738 | Uhuru Gardens, Nairobi GP 00517, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 181 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emakoko is a 20 bed lodge bordering Nairobi national park, only 25 minutes from all the main city airports & attractions. The Emakoko allows people to start and finish their safari in the wild environment they have travelled to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Emakoko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing