We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Emakoko
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ole Sereni(Nairobi)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eka Hotel Nairobi(Nairobi)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
238 results
Traveler rating
223
14
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
223
14
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgame drivesnairobi national parkrelief managerfoot bridgelovely lodgelions roaringblack rhinoopen dining roomhighly recommend this lodgedriver guidegreat hostssheldrick elephant orphanagemain gatemajor citystaff were exceptionalwilson airportinternational airport
Filter
Updating list...
223 - 228 of 238 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2012

My colleagues and I visited The Emakoko on 26th July.We were picked at KWS gates by Driver Newton. He is a gem.He went stopping for us to see the wild animals. Inside Emakoko,we were met by Emma and her husband. The staff were very friendly and the environment is quite soothing.
Emakoko experience is one to long for and will surely go back there.
Emmas dog is also very beautiful.
Emakoko experience is worth the investment. Will surely go back there.

Rebecca-Equity bank Head office

Room Tip: all the rooms have a great view of the park and the Mbagathi River
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky1973Nairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We had the great fortune to end our safari in such a special place. Our hosts Anton and Emma and the staff were gracious and welcoming. The lodge is just on the edge of Nairobi National Park yet only 20 minutes from the airpot. Its furnishings are truly elegant with large luxurious cottage style rooms, a beautiful pool, and an open dining room that overlooks the park. The food and drinks were excellent and made us regret only spending one night. Although in the center of Nairobi the magical feel of the lodge causes one to believe that they are still isolated in a national park such as the Serengeti or Maasai Mara. This young lodge is a must stay place in Kenya and has a bright future.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sftravelers83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

I want to share this new camp with you. It is only about 20 minutes from the international airport of Nairobi, so very convenient if you arrive in the evening. You don´t have to drive 45 minutes to a city hotel (during the day there are major traffic jams from the airport to the city - up to 2 hours...). So The Emakoko solves that problem. Sometimes you just know when something will become a success. The Emakoko is one of these special places. This intimate camp overlooks the Nairobi National Park. There is no physical border with the park, it is just on the other side over the ´river´ (rather a small stream). Everything is done very stylish. There are 10 spacious rooms; 5 on the same level as the lounge (all very private), and the other 5 are situated on top of the cliff. All the rooms share the same view on the park. It feels like you are in a little valley, so you don´t have the view over the plains of the park. Something you have to know is the the steps are quite big, and if you are staying at the rooms at the top, it is some effort to get there. So not ideal for people with walking disabilities. Although the first room left from the central area would be ideal for people with walking difficulties (and wheelchair friendly). The rooms are nice and spacious and there is a big nice bathtub. I think The Emakoko is really great for the high end traveller, and a nice way to start your trip. Even if you arrive in the evening when it is dark, it is so nice to wake up the next morning surrounded by nature. As this will most probably your first stop, it is so nice to be welcomed by a traditional Masai warrior. The owners Emma and Anthony have so much experience in the tourism industry, they really know what they are doing. Btw... there is also internet access. Prety convenient.

Room Tip: Depending on how fit you are. All rooms have a nice view. If you really like your privacy, then book the last room at the bottom level.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristien L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Simply fantastic. Had just one night and it was one of the best lodges that I have stayed in since moving to Kenya. It is in a stunning location with the park just on the other side of the river. Within less than 24 hours we saw buffalo, giraffe, crocodiles, baboons and a whole host of gorgeous birds. The rooms are done to an incredibly high standard, with such wonderful attention to detail, including guide books to animals in the rooms, and sumptuous wash products. The bathroom looked over the plains opposite, so in the evening I was able to indulge in a long held dream of bathing whilst looking out into the national park - it doesn't get more special than that. Or at least not until dinner! Wow... The food was incredible. We were served steak with a blue-cheese and mushroom sauce and all the trimmings. I love my food and this was one of the best meals I have had in Africa, and possibly one of my top 10 steaks I have ever had. The rooms are incredibly comfortable, and it would have been hard to drag myself out of the gorgeous bed had it not been for the tea and coffee served to our room along with freshly baked biscuits in the morning. Breakfast didn't disappoint, with all manor of fresh fruits, home-made granola, fresh smoothies, pancakes and cooked breakfast made to order. The owners Emma and Anton and wonderful, and the staff are attentive and help to make your stay all you could wish for. We only got to stay one night, but I can't wait till we can stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Emakoko is a stunning lodge on the edge of the Nairobi Park. A beautiful pool, very good service and incredible food! The managers Anton and Emma Childs have created a very welcoming and relaxing feel to the lodge.

We heard lions roaring on the other side of the river before going to bed, making such an incredible lodge at is so close to the International Airport and to the city.

Thanks for a great time.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Johnnie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews