We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambiance - CLOSED

Ambiance
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Went here for anniversary dinner. Very atmospheric dining area with lovely lighting. Service was excellent from start to finish including bringing over chimenia to warm us during our outdoor dining. Good wine list and varied menu. Can recommend chocolate melting heart dessert. Would go again with friends.

Helpful?
Thank kenyareviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    10
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
572 reviews
355 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“A mystery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Went for saturday lunch. No reservation. Parking place totally full! But - i was the only guest in the restaurant... There is a spa and hairdresser in the same building so I guess thats why all the cars were there.
But its a mystery how this so perfect restaurant can be empty between 1230-1400 one saturday. The ambience is perfect. Nice view of treetops. Two turtles crawling around looking as busy as only turtles can be. Waiters who are very attentive. Only problem - I do survive that - is that they had no idea what a Dry Martini is - so they served a vermouth (Martini Dry) ...
Food --- the blini with smoked salmon was superb. The confited duckleg - a bit to welldone but really tasty. Lots of pepper but the potatogratin and the sauce were wonderful.
The icecreamdessert! Yes. A !!!
Good restaurant! Certainly I will be back!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“Must go to...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

If you are in Nairobi, even for a short time this place is a must go,
Ambiance restaurant is a tuch of France in Nairobi, eating on the terrace is simply great. Service is very good although discreet and efficient. The attention to details is omnipresent in service and dishes. It is a perfect place for either a business lunch or a romantic diner.
Talking about the food, I never was disapointed the peper steack of the lunch menu is a must try, the adaptation of the bouillabaisse is great value for money, the cassoulet has to be tried. I am going there as often as possible and although it is not a budget restaurant prices are very reasonable compared to more popular places in Nairobi. Dont forget the deserts.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ThierryC2962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Westlands Secret!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Awesome and special place!!! We were looking for a nice soup and we found this place... The food was delicious, we were 4 persons and tried different plates, presentation and taste was indescribable... You can feel each ingredient and how it was cooked! Pumpkin soup is delicious! Ostrich perfectly cooked! Tasty crepes... For sure we will go back!
Awesome personnel, dedicated and really nice... We had a lovely night!!!!

Asante Asana!!!! Merci!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria Virginia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“High quality experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Good food from an extensive French menu (including several core dishes from French cuisine), very attentive staff, good (if expensive) selection of wines. There is a business lunch menu (though we went in the evening so can't really comment on that). Location is slightly strange, as it shares a building with a hairdresser, quit smoking therapist, spa and dress-maker, but inside the restaurant the tables a very nicely laid, with both larger tables and intimate tables for 2. Certainly to be recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RoughRoading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ambiance also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing