We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must go to...”
Review of Ambiance - CLOSED

Ambiance
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
“Must go to...”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

If you are in Nairobi, even for a short time this place is a must go,
Ambiance restaurant is a tuch of France in Nairobi, eating on the terrace is simply great. Service is very good although discreet and efficient. The attention to details is omnipresent in service and dishes. It is a perfect place for either a business lunch or a romantic diner.
Talking about the food, I never was disapointed the peper steack of the lunch menu is a must try, the adaptation of the bouillabaisse is great value for money, the cassoulet has to be tried. I am going there as often as possible and although it is not a budget restaurant prices are very reasonable compared to more popular places in Nairobi. Dont forget the deserts.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThierryC2962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    10
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Westlands Secret!!!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Awesome and special place!!! We were looking for a nice soup and we found this place... The food was delicious, we were 4 persons and tried different plates, presentation and taste was indescribable... You can feel each ingredient and how it was cooked! Pumpkin soup is delicious! Ostrich perfectly cooked! Tasty crepes... For sure we will go back!
Awesome personnel, dedicated and really nice... We had a lovely night!!!!

Asante Asana!!!! Merci!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria Virginia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“High quality experience”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Good food from an extensive French menu (including several core dishes from French cuisine), very attentive staff, good (if expensive) selection of wines. There is a business lunch menu (though we went in the evening so can't really comment on that). Location is slightly strange, as it shares a building with a hairdresser, quit smoking therapist, spa and dress-maker, but inside the restaurant the tables a very nicely laid, with both larger tables and intimate tables for 2. Certainly to be recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoughRoading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollesley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent food, lovely environment”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Have been to this restaurant for lunch and for dinner on a couple of occasions, the food has been consistently very good. The staff are very attentive and helpful and the the outside patio area is such a pleasant place to sit. Can definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulyn_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florennes, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A taste of France”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I'm Belgian, living in Nairobi, and Ambiance was one of the best restaurant I went to in Nairobi.
nice decors, nice and fine food.
They have nice soup.
I will go back to try the bouillabaisse, the duck, the foie gras,...

When you go to this place your are i Kenya but with a taste of France in your mouth..

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SimCa85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ambiance also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing