We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice food and ambience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Osteria Gigiri

Osteria Gigiri
Ranked #79 of 512 Restaurants in Nairobi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice food and ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Located in the Village Market, Gigiri.
The best lamb chops in the city! Juicy, tasty, simply delicious! Candles on the tables, makes it a special dinner along with the nice jazz small trio they have. Perfect!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrsStork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    49
    12
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“what a surprise!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Came here with some of the girls, and we all were so happy with our dishes.
I ordered the fresh gnocchi, it was terrific. highly recommended if you want fresh and fanastic Italian!!!
The ravioli, was great as well as the other pasta dished we tried.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank olenabklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

it was my daughters birthday and was a special occassion. We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner.
which was steak, ravioli, chicken and fish .
The decor is nice and it a beautiful place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kerelagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Italian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

I tried the ravioli from the menu one evening, which was done very nicely. Some great innovative ides to choose from. The lunch special for KES 1000 is great value for money and one day I had beautiful fillet steak that melted in your mouth. The bruschetta that comes with every meal is made fresh and is full of colour and flavour. Another favourite place to eat in Nairobi

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jasmine_zim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
124 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Village Market gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

If you take the time to drive out to the Village Market, plan the timing of your trip to include dinner at Osteria Gigiri. The decor is nothing to write home about, but you're not there for the view ... it's the food.

The menu has a number of excellent choices and even some surprising ones. I am partial to a good pasta dish that is served with Gorgonzola cheese -- I wasn't disappointed. Friends had lasagna, another had lamb; and a third chicken ... all of the dishes were delicious. Also, the complementary bruschetta is to die for!!

A fairly good wine list that will meet the call for most, but I stuck with the half liter of the house wine and found it quite enjoyable.

Service is very good. I'm not sure where other reviews get the idea that the menu is pricey -- they must have a different view of dinner prices than I do.

Well worth the drive.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BLA07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Gigiri also viewed

 

Been to Osteria Gigiri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing