We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice Place for Lunch or Dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria Gigiri

Osteria Gigiri
Ranked #61 of 480 Restaurants in Nairobi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nairobi
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice Place for Lunch or Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

the quiet environment and the very good food, would recommend for family outings and also for couples

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Perminus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    48
    12
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“My maid cooks better lasgna”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Eaten in kilimani and Gigiri. My advice is don't order something you know. As it will not be how you expect. I had lasgna without cheese on top just mince and the mince tasted like it was straight from the butchers with no bolognaise or italian spices. Or flavour. At kilimani I ordered spaghetti bolognaise and it was similar, tons of meat with minimal spaghetti. We once visited the one in karen and walked out without sitting down as none of the outside tables were prepared. They were covered in leaves and the grounds were in a state of disrepair. We went on and discovered Karwn coffe gardens (tamambo) and it was on the opposite end if the scale and have been customers there ever since.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kdegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“pricey but brilliant food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We had a great night out. The food was delicious, the service was great and the atmosphere just topped the evening off. The prices are on the steep side - but at least you get good quality and quantity.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tamara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The best thing I like about the place is the complimentary foccacia they offer - its nice n freshly out of the oven.

You dont require to reserve hence always good for last mimute plans.

Food is average. Pastas r good, perhaps avoid the soups

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank traveller56nbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

If you are looking for a nice romantic evening in Nairobi then this nice Italian place in the Village Market is a good bet. My wife and I went on a Friday night and the candle-lit atmosphere was lovely. It also wasn't too crowded (most likely because it was raining heavily that night), but in any event it is good to make reservations, especially on the weekends. We ordered a prawn pasta and a red snapper with tomato, onion, and capers. Both were very good -- large portions and cooked just right. We were also given a delicious starter for free, basically a bruscetta type dish but on a pizza base instead of on bread. The owner stopped by to chat during the meal which made it feel more like a family restaurant than "eating out". All in all, highly recommended for a romantic night out.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank tmmahony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Gigiri also viewed

 

Been to Osteria Gigiri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing