We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Osteria Gigiri, Village Market” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria Gigiri

Osteria Gigiri
Limuru Road | Inside the Village Market, 1st Floor., Nairobi, Kenya
020 7122661
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 463 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Osteria Gigiri, Village Market”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is a place where you can easily dine alone and feel part of the overal camaraderie. The staff are friendly and the food is good middle of the road Italian with better tah usual pizzas. Live music adds to the general ambience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    47
    10
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A less expensive Carnivore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

The premise is just the same as Carnivore. The restaurant is fantastic. I highly recommend it, especially if you go on an empty stomach since there is SO MUCH delicious meat to enjoy.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Henry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Warning: Hidden Price Increase”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We visited Osteria Gigiri as we have enjoyed previous visits at this location and at Del Chianti. Upon being given the menus, we noticed that all the pages were new, but the items and the prices seemed to be the same, but then we noticed the big change. At the bottom of each page it was printed that all prices EXCLUDE all taxes. This little change to the menu meant that they had increased the prices of all items by 16%.

I asked to see the manager and confronted him about the change. At first, he denied any change in the menu, but finally admitted to the price increase. I understand that restaurants must make a profit, but do not try to sneak something by your customers. If you are going to raise prices, do it in a manner than is open and honest.

We walked out before placing any order, and will not return.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank zip040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
239 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Glad to see Osteria in a more convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I like the old Osteria, but its not convenient to get to for those who live near Runda etc. thus was glad to see it appear in Gigiri. I admit that the older one in Hurlingham has greater ambiance and outdoor setting, but food is still great at Gigiri location.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank BombaxFlower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

This is a pleasant surprise in Nairobi with excellent menu and food at reasonable prices

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank Murray T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Gigiri also viewed

 

Been to Osteria Gigiri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing