We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Glad to see Osteria in a more convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria Gigiri

Osteria Gigiri
Ranked #48 of 465 Restaurants in Nairobi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
239 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Glad to see Osteria in a more convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I like the old Osteria, but its not convenient to get to for those who live near Runda etc. thus was glad to see it appear in Gigiri. I admit that the older one in Hurlingham has greater ambiance and outdoor setting, but food is still great at Gigiri location.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank BombaxFlower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    47
    10
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

This is a pleasant surprise in Nairobi with excellent menu and food at reasonable prices

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank Murray T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Downhill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

While friendly and in a useful location the way the food is put together has fallen off over the last two years. The ham on the pizza's just doesn't rate compared to what I like from Italy.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark_RiceGuardian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Surprisingly attractive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

The restaurant is inside a shopping mall so for me was initially a turn off. However it is good to put aside conceived notions and so we had lunch there. It wasn't an exceptional experience but it was very pleasant and enjoyable. And of course you could still do your shopping, assuming you have energy left, after you meal.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank OTor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“LOVE this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

My husband and I love to visit Osteria Gigiri. Their pizzas are so good, as are the pizzas. The service is attentive, and we love the complimentary flatbread served while you wait. They also have an extensive bar and wine selection, and charming atmosphere for being in Village Market.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cassie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Gigiri also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Osteria Gigiri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing