We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

“Yummy Activity” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brown's Cheese Factory & Farm

Brown's Cheese Factory & Farm
Ranked #13 of 114 things to do in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: If you love cheese, Brown's Cheese Tasting Room is for you. We offer a unique foodie experience, just west of Nairobi. Brown's has been making cheese in Kenya for over 30 years, and we now invite guests to come to our facility to see how cheese is made, sample several varieties, and enjoy a delicious lunch sourced entirely from our organic garden. A typical visit to Brown's starts with a welcome drink and snack, followed by a cheesemaking demonstration by your host. This is followed by a tour of our production facility, with the highlight visiting one of our cheese caves, and seeing thousands of cheese maturing using traditional methods. After the tour, we sit down for our cheese tasting. We know that traditionally the cheese course is served after the meal, but we're cheese people and believe it is best enjoyed with a blank palette and an empty stomach! We taste 8-10 of our handcrafted cheeses, along with homemade crackers, breads, chutneys, plus our carefully selected house wines. We finish with a seasonal light lunch, typically consisting of soups, salads, and flatbreads, followed by dessert and coffee. Kids will love exploring the garden and animals, and even milking a cow. Our tasting room is open Thursday, Fridays, and Saturdays, but reservations are strictly required. Plan ahead, as Saturdays can be booked many weeks in advance. We look forward to introducing you to the wide variety of delicious cheeses crafted by Brown's.
Galax, Virginia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Yummy Activity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

After listening to friends RAVE about the Factory and farm, and after enjoying Brown's Cheese at local markets and fairs, I created a group of seven adventurous individuals and spent an afternoon enjoying Brown's hospitality and cheese.

Scheduling was easy via SMS (email didn't get a response) but it's best to try and go on a weekday. Weekends were booked for the next three months. Also note that Brown's will be closed during June of 2013 for renovations but are accepting reservations for July.

Arriving at the farm (the map idea Timeteyo gave is a good one--print it out and take it with you if your driver hasn't been there before) we enjoyed delicious homemade chips and dip and samosas accompanied by a beverage of choice. After suiting up in white jackets, gum boots, and hair nets we enjoyed an overview of the farms history and objectives and a demonstration on who cheese is made before heading out to tour the plant. Our guide was FABULOUS and put up with endless questions and took the time to make sure everyone saw everything.

The cheese sampling was wonderful as was the lunch that followed. Brown's is planning to introduce ice cream in September 2012 and we had a chance to sample it for dessert. BEST ice cream I've had in Africa!!!!

Take advantage of the opportunity to purchase cheese -- the discount is worth the trip.

Beautiful grounds, great staff, and delicious food. Great way to spend an afternoon!!!

Visited May 2013
Thank WendyNairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“One of the best activities in Nairobi area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

I've been to the cheese factory twice and have recommended it to many others. It's a phenomenal experience - definitely work the drive and cost. Here are a few things to keep in mind when you visit:

1. Directions: If you are taking a taxi to the factory, print out the directions and take them with you. Although it's a great place, it's off the beaten path and is not a frequent destination - at least not to the extent that taxi drivers will know what you're talking about.

2. Cheese vs. Meal: A common comment that I have heard from visitors is confusion over the meal that is served. In the backyard of the factory, the staff serves plates with a variety of cheeses to sample, along with bread, jams, etc. And, a staff member provides a brief explanation of each one. However, that is NOT the meal. Unbelievably, there is more! So, don't stuff yourself on bread.

3. Buy Cheese: We compared prices of cheese at the factory with prices at Nakumatt in town. The difference was at least less than 50%, if not more significant. And, there are all kinds of specialty cheeses at the factory that you won't find elsewhere. If you ask nicely, they might sell you some.

4. Family: I've brought my son, who was eight years old at the time, and he thoroughly enjoyed the experience - the whole thing. It involves a bit of maturity, patience, and interest on the part of kids. But, for the right kids, it is a really terrific time.

This place is by far a highlight of visiting the Nairobi area. I live in Central Africa, so in particular appreciate the varieties that are available, as well as the challenge to status quo industry in the region. It's well worth the time and cost.

3 Thank Timoteyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lazy Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Best cheeses in Kenya = Death by cheese!!!
Great hosts.
Great food = Death by cheese!!!
The whole family enjoyed!

Visited February 2012
Thank Chansa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth A Visit To See Cheese Making”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Great place to visit on a weekend. See how they make various cheeses. Sample an assortment of cheeses. Enjoy their house wines. Take a walk and enjoy their mini farm environment. A lovely couple runs this place and they go out of their way for visitors that come by.

Visited July 2012
Thank james s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best cheese in Africa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Actually I havent been to the factory for years, but I know its a hugely fun experience. Im just proud of the Browns and they are cousins! This is for your information the ONLY cheese that is worth buying .........

Visited July 2012
1 Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brown's Cheese Factory & Farm also viewed


Been to Brown's Cheese Factory & Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing