We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“a hit and miss” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jiko

Jiko
Ranked #69 of 474 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Description: The restraunt was called Epic (which already features on Tripadvisor) and has recently re-opened as Jiko.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“a hit and miss”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We dinned at Jiko on two separate occassions whilst staying at Tribe hotel. We found that the level of sevice and quality of food varied immensely. On the first occasion I found a hair on my food. and although disheartening our waitress dealt with the matter professionally and after reodering my meal we were offered complimentary desert. The food was so tastey that we decided to come back a second time. Unfortunately on this occadion our waiter was completly incompetent...I asked what was included in the seafood platter and he was unsure whether prawns were shellfish. Upon finishing our starters he asked whether we wanted to order mains, however we had already ordered mains at the start. When my food arrived it was tasteless and burnt and badly presented making us wonder whether it was the same kitchen that had prepared our meal before.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cheerioshiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    20
    16
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“one of my favorites in nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Have eaten here a few times since relocating to Nairobi. Food is always excellent and the service is always wonderful. Beautiful venue to enjoy a nice meal and a great glass of wine - recommend sitting outside, but try not to fall in the pool! Their ice cream dessert is hands down my favorite dessert in Nairobi (so far), maybe because it reminds me of home.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KatGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
1 review
“Great at first but bitter taste in my mouth at the end”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We had a Christmas gathering on 24th Dec with my family at the Jiko restaurant. The welcome, was great,the food awesome but at some point, the person serving us had to leave for home but no proper handover done of what the gathering of 15 pax had consumed. The new server came and asked us by show of hands, how many people had pork, chicken etc. It felt like we were in a classroom yet we were cash paying guests. We waited for our bill from 2300h to 0130h and still the new server had the guts to tell us that we must comply and pay up with an attitude. We left the establishment upset and vowed never to come back again coz of how it all ended.

    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mercy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Very good food, great quality, great ambiance.. staff friendly, we really enjoyed it! We went on a Saturday as we wanted to avoid the Sunday crowd for the brunch... much better I will say! HIhly recommended!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank OceanLook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good cuisine. Pity about the clientele.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We wanted good cuisine and we got that. The waiters were competent and attentive. The wine list showed good choice - for example in the whites, there was a range from dry , crisp and grassy to the sweeter more fruity ones - and also a range of prices (though none were cheap).The food was well-prepared and presented. If you want stodge (rice, chips etc), you order it as an extra: the main courses come with just the good stuff. This suited us, since we got the good stuff without the stodge. The service was quick. They have made a good choice in limiting the number of items in their menu.
However, we also wanted an above-average dining experience, as a whole, and we did not get that - despite the best efforts of the staff. This was because of the dominant clientele in the restaurant. It was mostly men above a certain age and size, who got very drunk and loud. I suspect these were largely the wealthy guests of the Tribe hotel that the restaurant is part of.

We especially liked the osso bucco.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hilde_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jiko also viewed

 

Been to Jiko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing