We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient, clean, perfect overnight stop” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aero Club of East Africa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aero Club of East Africa
Save
You added Aero Club of East Africa to your Saves list
Wilson Airport, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 194 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Pennington, South Africa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“convenient, clean, perfect overnight stop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Love this place, from the friendly staff, the restaurant, the club appeal and even the dated and basic rooms and bathrooms all add to the quaintness. Inclusive in your rate is temporary club membership and the bar, lounge, polished wood and aeronautical memorabilia all very reminiscent of out of Africa. The wine is very reasonably priced and there is a good selection and it is pleasant to enjoy a drink in the bar before dinner.All the staff are amazingly courteous and efficient. We have stayed there a few times and it will always be our choice for overnight stays in Nairobi.
Last time we went with our grandchildren and son and everyone had rave reviews about the food. I love the old world ambiance that you are unlikely to get in another hotel and the convenience to both the International airport and David Sheldrick's Elephant Orphanage, which we always visit, makes its location very appealing. Plus, all our connecting flights around Kenya are on site (so no lengthy traffic delays) as it is situated in pleasant grounds right at Wilson airport. There is also a pool and lovely outdoor terrace to while away the hours before or after your flight to the Mara. Convenience 5 stars.

Room Tip: read a great deal about the noise but we must have been lucky as everyone slept very well, maybe tir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The rooms are basic but great value, and the location within Wilson airport makes the AeroClucb ideal for catching an early morning flight without having to fight the dreadful traffic on Langata Road.

However, the room I had was the closest to the main road and it was very noisy, with traffic and honking horns going til the early hours and starting up again by 6 am. The buildings are basic and the windows are single-glazed in steel frames. I think they should upgrade to double-glazed and get a tighter within the frames, and should also fit better seals on the doors to keep noise down.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Africahand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
Level Contributor
208 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The positives: your temporary membership enables you to dine in the members only club bar, polished wood and old aviation photos everywhere: you expect to see Finch Hatton turn up for a sundowner. The food is simple and cheap. The reception and bar staff are very welcoming. After a long flight out from Europe via Dubai, it was great to spend the remains of the day in the garden which looks over the airfield to the Nairobi park beyond. Being a few hundred meters from the Wilson check in area means a late get up and no stress about potential traffic jams. It was nice to have breakfast on the terrace overlooking the garden.
The negatives: it's noisy. While the airfield is open you occasionally get loud bursts of propellor plane engines. On the non airfield side of the club there is a busy road. Bring ear plugs! The room was very basic, though clean and with plenty of hot water. Slept well, thanks to fatigue and to earplugs.
The convenience for the morning flight out to Masai Mara and friendliness of the staff mean that I'd certainly use this "hotel" on any future safari trip to Kenya. However, it's defitnitely a "one nighter".

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cliffordchambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Africa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

A very useful transit stop, used by up-country resident members and tourists alike. There's a small surcharge for non-members. Simple decent accommodation and food, a good bar and breakfast, with cheerful friendly staff.

Room Tip: They're all a bit noisy due to road traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barazani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I have always previously stayed overnight in the city prior to my early morning flight into the Mara from Wilson airport (WIL). This has meant an early start to make sure of getting through the horrendous traffic. In order to avoid this I decided to try the ACEA, & I'm very glad I did.

My BA flight didn't land until 10 PM but I cleared C&I very easily, jumped in a taxi & 15 minutes later arrived at the ACEA. I was welcomed, shown to my room & informed that the bar had been kept open for me! Even if you don't drink it's still well worth a visit. It's like a museum of nearly 90 years of aviation in Kenya & the neighbouring countries. There are loads of photos & pieces of memorabilia, including a Merlin engine, as fitted to the Spitfire! After a couple of Malts & a cracking chat with the barman it was time for bed.

My room in the new block, was large, clean & furnished with both a double & single bed. There is plenty of storage space & the bath room & shower were spotlessly clean & fitted with all mod cons. I slept like a log.

Breakfast was served in the main dining room & there is also an outside dining area next to the pool. I had a superb breakfast, cooked to order & priced very reasonably. The staff were both efficient & friendly. I was strolling down the road after breakfast to check in for my flight & a Safari link wagon stopped & picked me up!

I can highly recommend the ACEA & next time I'm here, rather than hanging around Nairobi airport waiting for my night flight back to LHR, I'll have dinner & a couple of beers here & then grab a cab to NBO.

Room Tip: The rooms in the new block are better & bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicmeljones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Easy to book, a small supliment charged if you are not a member but worth it. Look if you are expecting shiney floors and air con you are in the wrong mindset. What you get is a safe, welcolming, convienent and well priced bed and a meal. There is a bar, good food, wifi and space to relax and meet friends or do business. There is a small pool, its clean and refreshing. For a transit location to from safaris or a quick in and out of Kenya this is the place. 30 min at best from the main airport and literally minutes from the charter flight hub.

Advice: ask for rooms away from the road, the new block is best! Bit noisy. The cars are worse than the planes! Watch the mosquitos in the evening. There are squadrons of them and accurate in their persuit of the targets! Quick laundry service and its actually well positioned with access to town or Karen. Matter of timing really. Great spot.

Room Tip: Ask for the new block. They are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tarquin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed here for a night stay before taking our flight to Mara next morning from Wilson. It is a basic hotel with comfortable beds, mosquito nets and decent food in the restaurant. Wilson airstrip is about 10 mins walk. We had dinner and breakfast at the Aeroclub which was decent. Dinner had decent vegetarian food. There is free wifi in the lobby. If you have a couple of hours, there is Yaya center mall about 5-6 kms with supermarket and basic needs. It also has Masai market on sundays which we went to see. You could buy souveniers from there. It is not a standard hotel with a lot of amenities but it is more than good enough for a one day stay. I would definitely recommend this if you are flying through Wilson.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beautifulworld30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.3 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#7 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 481 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi
2.0 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#13 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Panari Hotel
The Panari Hotel
#45 of 145 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 264 reviews
1.1 mi away
Saab Royale Hotel
Saab Royale Hotel
#32 of 145 in Nairobi
5.0 of 5 stars 4 reviews
2.1 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#26 of 145 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aero Club of East Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aero Club of East Africa

Address: Wilson Airport, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing