We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very basic accomodation, atmospheric bar and nice garden” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aero Club of East Africa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aero Club of East Africa
Save
You added Aero Club of East Africa to your Saves list
Ranked #78 of 226 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Europe
Level Contributor
236 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Very basic accomodation, atmospheric bar and nice garden”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The positives: your temporary membership enables you to dine in the members only club bar, polished wood and old aviation photos everywhere: you expect to see Finch Hatton turn up for a sundowner. The food is simple and cheap. The reception and bar staff are very welcoming. After a long flight out from Europe via Dubai, it was great to spend the remains of the day in the garden which looks over the airfield to the Nairobi park beyond. Being a few hundred meters from the Wilson check in area means a late get up and no stress about potential traffic jams. It was nice to have breakfast on the terrace overlooking the garden.
The negatives: it's noisy. While the airfield is open you occasionally get loud bursts of propellor plane engines. On the non airfield side of the club there is a busy road. Bring ear plugs! The room was very basic, though clean and with plenty of hot water. Slept well, thanks to fatigue and to earplugs.
The convenience for the morning flight out to Masai Mara and friendliness of the staff mean that I'd certainly use this "hotel" on any future safari trip to Kenya. However, it's defitnitely a "one nighter".

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cliffordchambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    13
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
7
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
East Africa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

A very useful transit stop, used by up-country resident members and tourists alike. There's a small surcharge for non-members. Simple decent accommodation and food, a good bar and breakfast, with cheerful friendly staff.

Room Tip: They're all a bit noisy due to road traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barazani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I have always previously stayed overnight in the city prior to my early morning flight into the Mara from Wilson airport (WIL). This has meant an early start to make sure of getting through the horrendous traffic. In order to avoid this I decided to try the ACEA, & I'm very glad I did.

My BA flight didn't land until 10 PM but I cleared C&I very easily, jumped in a taxi & 15 minutes later arrived at the ACEA. I was welcomed, shown to my room & informed that the bar had been kept open for me! Even if you don't drink it's still well worth a visit. It's like a museum of nearly 90 years of aviation in Kenya & the neighbouring countries. There are loads of photos & pieces of memorabilia, including a Merlin engine, as fitted to the Spitfire! After a couple of Malts & a cracking chat with the barman it was time for bed.

My room in the new block, was large, clean & furnished with both a double & single bed. There is plenty of storage space & the bath room & shower were spotlessly clean & fitted with all mod cons. I slept like a log.

Breakfast was served in the main dining room & there is also an outside dining area next to the pool. I had a superb breakfast, cooked to order & priced very reasonably. The staff were both efficient & friendly. I was strolling down the road after breakfast to check in for my flight & a Safari link wagon stopped & picked me up!

I can highly recommend the ACEA & next time I'm here, rather than hanging around Nairobi airport waiting for my night flight back to LHR, I'll have dinner & a couple of beers here & then grab a cab to NBO.

Room Tip: The rooms in the new block are better & bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicmeljones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Easy to book, a small supliment charged if you are not a member but worth it. Look if you are expecting shiney floors and air con you are in the wrong mindset. What you get is a safe, welcolming, convienent and well priced bed and a meal. There is a bar, good food, wifi and space to relax and meet friends or do business. There is a small pool, its clean and refreshing. For a transit location to from safaris or a quick in and out of Kenya this is the place. 30 min at best from the main airport and literally minutes from the charter flight hub.

Advice: ask for rooms away from the road, the new block is best! Bit noisy. The cars are worse than the planes! Watch the mosquitos in the evening. There are squadrons of them and accurate in their persuit of the targets! Quick laundry service and its actually well positioned with access to town or Karen. Matter of timing really. Great spot.

Room Tip: Ask for the new block. They are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tarquin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed here for a night stay before taking our flight to Mara next morning from Wilson. It is a basic hotel with comfortable beds, mosquito nets and decent food in the restaurant. Wilson airstrip is about 10 mins walk. We had dinner and breakfast at the Aeroclub which was decent. Dinner had decent vegetarian food. There is free wifi in the lobby. If you have a couple of hours, there is Yaya center mall about 5-6 kms with supermarket and basic needs. It also has Masai market on sundays which we went to see. You could buy souveniers from there. It is not a standard hotel with a lot of amenities but it is more than good enough for a one day stay. I would definitely recommend this if you are flying through Wilson.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beautifulworld30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the Hague
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

I stayed here the last night in Kenya.. We hoped to go the the nairobi national park, carnivore and catch our early morning flight. We made the carnivore and our flight, but ran out of time for the national park.

The location was excellent for our plans. Good room, nice atmosphere. Nice restaurant and bar, small swimming pool and some nice play area for children. Added bonus is all the small aircraft which take off and land right next door.

The aero club is however also next to a major high way, which you do really hear at night.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maarten81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
86 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

For our second trip to Kenya, we decided to forgo the luxurious downtown hotel for the overnight stay before leaving for the bush. Why fight Nairobi traffic early in the morning to get to Wilson Airport and why pay international hotel prices when you can be comfortable and be at Wilson Airport? Plus, the role of aviation and bush pilots in the modern history of Africa made one feel a bit more like an adventurer rather than a pampered safari guest!

The main lodge of the Club is comfortable and has a lovely old-world feeling with propellers and aviation photos on display. Our room, in an adjacent building, was spacious and comfortable, with high ceilings, air conditioning, and a clean bathroom and shower. TV had local channels only - much more interesting - and there was no internet as far as I could tell. We could have walked to the passenger terminal but Safari Link picked us up.

If you are not too concerned about the amenities of a major hotel but want a good night's sleep at an affordable rate before heading out into the bush, you might consider the Aero Club of East Africa.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Finem50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.0 mi away
Weston Hotel
Weston Hotel
#38 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 41 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 548 reviews
1.1 mi away
Saab Royale Hotel
Saab Royale Hotel
#34 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#8 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,152 reviews
0.6 mi away
Velvet House
Velvet House
#35 of 226 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 13 reviews
0.7 mi away
Magharibi Suites
Magharibi Suites
#48 of 226 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aero Club of East Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aero Club of East Africa

Property: Aero Club of East Africa
Address: Wilson Airport, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 226 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing