We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice for stopover or transit in Nairobi” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nairobi Airport Stop Over House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nairobi Airport Stop Over House
Ranked #77 of 234 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Khartoum, Sudan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice for stopover or transit in Nairobi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

On our way to Safari trip in Kenya we transit at this place as we arrived early in the morning so thought of take a nap and refresh ourselves before continue our long hours journey. with 6 adults and 3 kids we decided to take up the dormitory by paying approx USD26/pax including breakfast.
They suggested the family with kids to take separate rooms to avoid congested. the room are quite ok it just that the water pressure for that day was not ok due to water pump problem.
they served simple breakfast i.e: toast bread, jam, butter, omelette, and halal sausage as per our request, coffee, tea and juices.
Overall it's a nice place for the price you pay and if you plan for a transit in Nairobi. the only setback is the location as it located in the middle hometown area, guarded and gated so you have to ensure the driver knows the area and road name because no signboard from outside guard house.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EasTLiN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    20
    11
    4
    7
See reviews for
6
14
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dresden, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed at Nairobi Airport Stop Over House for two nights in Nov. 2013. The pick-up and drop-off worked well and the hosts were very kind. The rooms we had were tidy and clean. It fullfilled all our good expectations and we look forward in coming back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sebastian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

We were booked for 3 stays at this "HOSTEL" and after giving it a second chance, cancelled the 3rd. stay. Rooms are bad...bathrooms are worse!!! Only consolation was some of the staff were helpful. It is situated in a pretty rough part of Nairobi, hense the gated area and compound. Also not as close to the airport as we were lead to believe..
Avoid if you can!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Karlovac, Croatia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

We found them on internet, and initial contact was made by e-mail pretty fast. It was good and we managed to arange several safaris and they planed us hole trip for 3 weeks, even booked us a bus to Tanzania. Friendly and really helpful staff. Postition is pretty near the airport, and if you want to go to down town Nairobi it will take you 30 min of walking or few min by bus(if it's not jammed, and always is). There is great mall 300m from house so it's really easy to buy anything you need. If you are not accustomed trafic could be small problem for sleeping because you are 20 m from the main road to town but it's not that big issue.
After everything we've seen I think this is typical African over night(or few) accommodation with really friendly staff and great terrace on 1st floor(excelente for few beers). If you need anything arranged just ask the staff and they'll organize it for you. Do not expect european standards in anything in Africa(from accomodation to internet, eletricity, showers, etc.), if you are OK with that than this is really good place for couple of nights.

Room Tip: Ask for room with toilet!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Granamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Located in a gated neighborhood and a gated compound, saftey is not a concern. I was greeted by a lady who was very nice. My room was large, 2 double beds, with a private bath that was actually an enclosed porch but the room and bath were clean. I arrived about 6 PM and it was like an oven in the room and there was no fan nor did the staff have a portable fan. I had a 3 am flight out of Nairobi and had to be up at 12:30 am so I needed to get some sleep but that was almost impossible with the noisy street out the window and the highway noise just a block away. My stay was part of a package so I don't know what it cost but I would try to find a more quiet place with at least a fan the next time I need a temporary place in Nairobi.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

The Nairobi stopover hotel is a place close to the international airport where your tip can start or end. The booking went well, email response took place within a day. They already booked my bustrip to Moshi in Tanzania!
When I arrived, the lady of the house was very friendly. The room I got in the back was clean, with a mosquito net. The bathroom was very simple.
Had a great night of sleep. But the best was yet to come, the breakfast! Enough to say no to your lunch.
When I left and took the bus to Moshi, a realy nice guy from the hostel brought me to the right busstop (James, thanks!).
Liz from Holland

Room Tip: Room in the back of the house with the bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzy_from_Breda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

For our last night in Kenya and an early flight the next morning back to Amsterdam we needed a save place to stay without any ambition to visit Nairobi this time.

This hostel / guesthouse is a fit for purpose choice to do this.

Friendly and helpful staff (escort to Capital Mall, 10 min walk max., airport pick-up and drop-off) and a save feeling with the apparently locked off street, creating a compound :-)

Definitely a hostel to save as option for Nairobi!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aalbersberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.1 mi away
Saab Royale Hotel
Saab Royale Hotel
#34 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
7.9 mi away
67 Airport Hotel
67 Airport Hotel
#33 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
1.2 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#14 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Weston Hotel
Weston Hotel
#50 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ole Sereni
Ole Sereni
#18 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Panari Hotel
The Panari Hotel
#45 of 161 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nairobi Airport Stop Over House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Airport Stop Over House

Property: Nairobi Airport Stop Over House
Address: Oluvimu Road | P.O Box 16173, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 234 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a mid range Bed and breakfast guest house located very near the Nairobi Jomo Kenyatta airport and Wilson airport. We are less than 10minutes from any of the airport. Our guest house guarantees personal attention for it is small with a capacity of 20 guests per night. Our 5 bedrooms are either in single, double, triple and we have a family room with 1 big bed and 2 small beds. Some rooms are with private bathrooms and others in shared bathrooms. Cleanliness, security, serenity and affordability have made our guests come back again and again. With the ideal location, visitors arriving or departing late in the night or early morning have always found our place very ideal. It is also a great location for guests on transit to Tanzania since the shuttle buses to Tanzania pick guests from our house on the way without having to go to the city center to board. We have business connections with shuttle buses like Davanu shuttle, Marangu shuttles Jamii shuttle, Riverside shuttle, Impala shuttle, Destination and rainbow among others. For those on long hours of waiting to connect a flight, we offer great deals on day room either as a package with pick up and drop off the airport and lunch or just on accommodation only. We are a great place to meet other young travelers and the "young at heart", backpackers and mid range travelers. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing