We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“POOR BREAKFAST”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nairobi Transit Hotel
Ranked #50 of 167 Hotels in Nairobi
Reviewed December 5, 2013

I stayed here overnight. The hotel is good..though the entry while driving is badly located. My worst point was told that i could not order dinner at 9.30 PM since the kitchen had closed. Yet, i had checked in at 9PM and nobody bothered to tell me when the kitechen closes. Their breakfast was also terrible...no need even to give details. I however liked the rooms facing away from the road. They are very quite.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BenKaribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
There are newer reviews for Nairobi Transit Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 55 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of days with my husband. Clean and comfortable rooms. Staff are super helpful - would visit again. Lovely veggie breakfast in the morning! Good price, handy for airport stopovers.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirsten M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The hotel is a bit tired, the beds were very hard and it is quite noisy outside in the morning. Breakfast was OK, but nothing of great quality. The hotel seems clean but could do with a revamp. Staff are friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Good enough for short stay. Staff are friendly and helpful. There are security guards all day and night outside, and the property is well looked after. The hotel in general is nothing special, but hotels in Nairobi are generally over-priced, so this one is okay in comparison. The breakfast is fairly poor.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David79986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Spent one night here just before a flight. Good if you just want a reasonably clean place with a bed, private washroom, and is quiet. Yes there's TV but limited channels. Like I said, basic, but it does the job of giving you a night's rest. Service is helpful and friendly. Breakfast is again basic, some might say limited, but enough to get you going on your day. While the location is not next door to major attractions, it didn't feel dodgy to me. Make sure your hot water works before you accept the given room.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank qasr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I found the staff to be the best part of the hotel as they were all willing to help with any request. I had a corner room, which was extremely clean, large, and a great view of the city. The location was also a 10 minute walk to the heart of the business center. The restaurant and bar at the hotel were also excellent. I thought the food was very good and the breakfast was as good as you expect a free breakfast.

The only possible negative is that the immediate surrounding area is not the greatest, but I still encountered no problems while walking through the marketplace.

I would definitely stay here again if I go back to Nairobi. The price is excellent for the view and location near the business center.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

For a hotel in the heart of the CBD, The Nairobi Transit is all it proved to be, a well kept secret in Nairobi! When I came across it, I was a bit iffy considering the location it was in, surrounded by a busy market and a busy bus terminus! But call me euphoric! It was my birthday and it was a great experience! The 3 stars are for the impeccable service, the cleanliness of the rooms and the hot water in the showers (been unlucky before somewhere else)! However, the shaved off 2 stars are for the way they limited us to the local tv channels, which had bad reception except for 2 pay tv channels and yet they had DSTV installed, and the way they had a food menu which was not all that adventurous or vast, just too simple. All in all, it was a fabulous experience for that price, surprisingly, and maybe the the birthday euphoria masked a few other things, but don't knock it till you try it!! Come expecting a good time....

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are indeed quieter!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NMR_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
West Breeze Hotel
#48 of 167 in Nairobi
73 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Decasa Hotel
Decasa Hotel
#101 of 167 in Nairobi
52 reviews
Seldom Hotel
#96 of 167 in Nairobi
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kima Hotel
#128 of 167 in Nairobi
30 reviews
Hotel Southern Blue
#99 of 167 in Nairobi
4 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
The Clarion Hotel
The Clarion Hotel
#92 of 167 in Nairobi
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nairobi Transit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Transit Hotel

Address: Limuru Road | opposite Jamhuri High School, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 167 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range: $33 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nairobi Transit Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi Transit Hotel is a modern, affordable, business-friendly hotel on the edge of Nairobi's CBD. The hotel is situated in the business district and is close to Nairobi National Museum and Kenya National Theatre. The property is less than 30 minutes from the airport and conveniently located for onward safaris out of Nairobi. Room amenities include complimentary high-speed wireless internet, LCD televisions with premium cable channels and balconies accessible via sliding glass doors offering city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Nairobi Transit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing