We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Dont judge a book by its cover...surroundings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Transit Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nairobi Transit Hotel
Ranked #41 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dont judge a book by its cover...surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

With the newly completed Thika road, makes access to the hotel much easier. though the parking is a bit wanting in terms of space and direction. Regardless the ambiance is okay, and menu offerings are great. The steak was great, well done, and the vegetables were done just right. For the restaurant, i would give it a 3 out of 5.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valentine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    9
    17
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
16
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Room was burglarized in this middle-class urban hotel. Although duly notified of the hazards of Nairobi travel, this hotel unfortunately was not appropriately equipped with room safes, and did not acknowledge the risks and previous thefts they had sustained.

Rooms were also over-stated on the website. Lack of hot water for the sink, lack of screens or mosquito nets, broken locks on patio doors and drawers (where valuables were to be kept), all made for a somewhat disappointing stay. And bed was overly firm for most tastes.

As a bright spot, morning breakfast was always cooked to order and delivered by a cheerful hardworking restaurant staff. Simple tasty dinners were also available when didn't want to go out to dinner.

Room Tip: Request use of hotel safe for valuables. Upper floor room gets away from traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gust02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NTHManagement, Owner at Nairobi Transit Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Gust02,

Thank you for your feedback. In our bid to constantly improve, we appreciate all feedback from our guests.

The incident that occurred during your stay with us was indeed unfortunate and we would like to unreservedly apologize for any inconvenience caused. We have taken this unique incident seriously and we are in the process of upgrading our security arrangements to include, for example, CCTV throughout the premises.

On a lighter note, we are glad you enjoyed eating at our restaurant. The food we serve acts as a metaphor for Nairobi Transit Hotel; simple, tasteful and affordable.

Kind Regards,
Management Team
Nairobi Transit Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Its not in the best part of Nairobi but we turned up at 11pm and knew we were being collected at 7am. There was people hanging around but taxi waited til security arrived to bring us in so wasnt a problem. The room was clean, it had wifi and breakfast in the morning was fairly good for what you would expect. Its a fair bit cheaper than other hotels in this city but you get what you pay for, if your are after a basic room etc I would reccommend this.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twofeetpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Nairobi Transit hotel is a decent hotel by Nairobi standards, and especially if you dont want to pay the crazy prices that the socalled 5 star hotels are charging. The receptionist staff is very friendly and professional and the rooms are ok. The free internet is working ok. The TV is small and they only have local channels. Included breakfast is decent, and they can bring it to the room for an extra charge of around 6 USD.

The major drawback about this hotel is its location. It is located right next to Ngara busstation and a market, so it is not safe to walk around outside the hotel. Also the buses start making a lot of noise from 5 am in the morning. I was not able to sleep after that.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with as little noise as possible from the bus station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anders O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
58 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed there one night arriving late from the airport and leaving next morning. A mosquito net would have been nice. We felt a bit unsure of the safety of the area. So left the hotel only with car.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hubeerrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mamaroneck, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We wanted a place to stay between flights, and the Nairobi Transit Hotel was relatively convenient to the airport. The beds were OK, but a bit hard. Hot water was a problem. Dinner was fine and inexpensive. The area was loud and unattractive, and I wouldn't have wanted to walk around at night, but it was fine as long as we were just using it to get in and out of taxis. Overall, we saved some money by staying here, and we didn't regret our decision.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StewSterk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nakuru, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Totally loved the experience at the transit. Racheal the receptionist was very good and friendly.The ambience is good, room was clean and the sheets as well. Breakfast was good. Only thing was the lack of the mosquito net which i hope they have sorted by now. Otherwise a great place to stay in and would definitely go back there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ShanillaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Central Business District
West Breeze Hotel
West Breeze Hotel
#39 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
Highridge
Hennessis Hotel
Hennessis Hotel
#53 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 37 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Mvuli Suites
Mvuli Suites
#47 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Central Park Nairobi
#80 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Seldom Hotel
#65 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 3 reviews
Saab Royale Hotel
#38 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nairobi Transit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Transit Hotel

Property: Nairobi Transit Hotel
Address: Limuru Road | opposite Jamhuri High School, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nairobi Transit Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi Transit Hotel is a modern, affordable, business-friendly hotel on the edge of Nairobi's CBD. The hotel is situated in the business district and is close to Nairobi National Museum and Kenya National Theatre. The property is less than 30 minutes from the airport and conveniently located for onward safaris out of Nairobi. Room amenities include complimentary high-speed wireless internet, LCD televisions with premium cable channels and balconies accessible via sliding glass doors offering city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Nairobi Transit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing