We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Basic but did what was required” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nairobi Transit Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nairobi Transit Hotel
Ranked #41 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Basic but did what was required”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Its not in the best part of Nairobi but we turned up at 11pm and knew we were being collected at 7am. There was people hanging around but taxi waited til security arrived to bring us in so wasnt a problem. The room was clean, it had wifi and breakfast in the morning was fairly good for what you would expect. Its a fair bit cheaper than other hotels in this city but you get what you pay for, if your are after a basic room etc I would reccommend this.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twofeetpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    11
    17
    2
    3
See reviews for
5
16
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Nairobi Transit hotel is a decent hotel by Nairobi standards, and especially if you dont want to pay the crazy prices that the socalled 5 star hotels are charging. The receptionist staff is very friendly and professional and the rooms are ok. The free internet is working ok. The TV is small and they only have local channels. Included breakfast is decent, and they can bring it to the room for an extra charge of around 6 USD.

The major drawback about this hotel is its location. It is located right next to Ngara busstation and a market, so it is not safe to walk around outside the hotel. Also the buses start making a lot of noise from 5 am in the morning. I was not able to sleep after that.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with as little noise as possible from the bus station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anders O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
66 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed there one night arriving late from the airport and leaving next morning. A mosquito net would have been nice. We felt a bit unsure of the safety of the area. So left the hotel only with car.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hubeerrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mamaroneck, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

We wanted a place to stay between flights, and the Nairobi Transit Hotel was relatively convenient to the airport. The beds were OK, but a bit hard. Hot water was a problem. Dinner was fine and inexpensive. The area was loud and unattractive, and I wouldn't have wanted to walk around at night, but it was fine as long as we were just using it to get in and out of taxis. Overall, we saved some money by staying here, and we didn't regret our decision.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StewSterk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nakuru, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

Totally loved the experience at the transit. Racheal the receptionist was very good and friendly.The ambience is good, room was clean and the sheets as well. Breakfast was good. Only thing was the lack of the mosquito net which i hope they have sorted by now. Otherwise a great place to stay in and would definitely go back there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ShanillaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honolulu
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

My Husband and I stayed here for 4 nights. It was our first trip to Nairobi, and we were unsure about the safety and area. When we arrived the receptions staff was very helpful and kind. Our room was nice and clean and we had a balcony. The hotel is a short distance from the city center so we were away from a lot of the noise which was nice. Ambrose the hotel Manager was incredibly helpful. He helped us with tours, taxi, and was able to get my husbands ATM card back from a Barclays when it was taken by the machine! I would definately recommend this hotel. There is also a restaurant and bar which is good for a quick inexpensive meal. There is also Wifi in the rooms, which are cleaned every day. Overall this was one of the best hotels we stayed at on our trip. The staff was excellent! -Elisa and Ryan

Room Tip: we were on the 4th floor which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missycat23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

I stayed here for one night and was so impressed with the service and the friendliness of the people, I would definitely go back.

Fridah and Rachel at reception were super helpful by arranging everything I needed (from arranging taxi's to organising phone calls from South Africa and printing my boarding passes!) And the room service was cheap, fast and the food very nice.

I couldn't get wifi reception in my room or in the restaurant, which was disappointing. But managed to get a faint signal in the corridor. Also, the surrounding area is quite noisy (since it's right next to a busy street) and not much for the eye but that didn't really bother me as I wasn't there for long.

The room was clean and had everything I needed. Breakfast was very nice and served by friendly and helpful waiters. Service is definitely high on the priority list at the NTH!

I would go back without thinking twice!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MarilizeBurger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Central Business District
West Breeze Hotel
West Breeze Hotel
#40 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Highridge
Hennessis Hotel
Hennessis Hotel
#54 of 161 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Mvuli Suites
Mvuli Suites
#47 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seldom Hotel
#65 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Fourth Parklands Guest House
#59 of 161 in Nairobi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
The Ndemi Place
#53 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nairobi Transit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Transit Hotel

Property: Nairobi Transit Hotel
Address: Limuru Road | opposite Jamhuri High School, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nairobi Transit Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi Transit Hotel is a modern, affordable, business-friendly hotel on the edge of Nairobi's CBD. The hotel is situated in the business district and is close to Nairobi National Museum and Kenya National Theatre. The property is less than 30 minutes from the airport and conveniently located for onward safaris out of Nairobi. Room amenities include complimentary high-speed wireless internet, LCD televisions with premium cable channels and balconies accessible via sliding glass doors offering city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Jovago.com so you can book your Nairobi Transit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing