We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Classy but expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brew Bistro & Lounge

Brew Bistro & Lounge
Ranked #17 of 480 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, European, International, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Classy but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Nice place and worth checking out. They brew their own beer but I couldn't vouch for that as I don't drink beer.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank derryglas186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    154
    32
    5
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Popular spot for locals and expats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Brew Bistro is a popular restaurant in Nairobi, it is right after Junction Mall. Its dining area is seperate than the bar section which makes it quite for dinners. Even though restaurant does not offer a big menu, it specializes in meat. Their meat is nicely cook and served. Bar section gets very crowded after 9pm especially during Friday nights and weekends. Reservation is highly recomended for those days. The unique thing about Brew Bistro, restaurant offers its own bear, even though I amnot a bear person, I heard it is very good.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Zeynep V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Classy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

The ambiance is great, the food is tasty albeit pricey. Place is frequented by young professionals and is a good spot to meet classy people. Went there on a Saturday night and it was packed almost to capacity by 8pm. Enjoyed the resident DJ mixes sitting out overlooking Ngong road.The chicken wings are tasty and the beers are refreshing.Beware of the cops along Ngong road, they almost always will stop you for a breathalyzer and often you have to part with a few Ksh.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank asamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
183 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

I have now eaten at both the bar and the restaurant here several times -the restaurant was a decent experience, with good quality tasty food, just very expensive for small portions. The bar, which I have frequented often in the last year, has Great food, for a little more reasonable price. I have few fave spots in Nairobi but this is one of them. Yes, it's more expensive than other places but that's what you have to pay for a chef who knows what they are doing I guess~! I have tried many different items on the menu and never been disappointed. And they have a great happy hour. Also, hands down they have some of the best beer in East Africa. So if you are tired of tasteless beer and want something with a little more personality and complexity -grab a brew here. It is popular so it gets loud at night -and they have karaoke, salsa, etc. nights so if you like that, it an be hopping. Only disappointed that they stopped serving lunch this fall -have had great sunday brunch there before. The service is fine, though not exceptional. I hope that they continue in excellent quality food -thats not always the case over the years in Nairobi, but I have my fingers crossed for BB!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KTrigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“My Favorite hangout”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I love micro breweries and absolute love this place.The beer sampler is worth every penny,large glasses,well priced and tasty beer.The food and service is great and the crowd is hip.The place fills up on the weekends so make sure you make a reservation.Check the days they have Happy Hour as as its 2 for the price for one on beers and cocktails.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GNF777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brew Bistro & Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Brew Bistro & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing