We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A lazy Sunday afternoon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brew Bistro & Lounge

Brew Bistro & Lounge
Ranked #16 of 464 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, European, International, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
129 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A lazy Sunday afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Arrived early afternoon before the tempo increased once the mellow music live band started playing. Was able to stlll eat from a brunch menu (opted for version of an English breafast but with fresh juice which was delicious) and the waiters were very friendly although they seemed to be a good number coming to ask us whether we were being served. The place started filling up for lunch and one group moved away from a table directly next to the band because of the volume of the live music- a point to remember next time when we will definitely return for their other meals and the live music in the near future.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kufunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    146
    32
    5
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“for the energetic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

for a great nightlife with plenty of food and drinks variety, beautiful atmosphere....try the beer variety - "6 pack".....food is great too

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank animesh s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good service, great food,mature crowd”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The brew bistro is a favorite stop in Nairobi. We dined at the restaurant which is divided from the rest of the place and the food was excellent. Very friendly waiters who keep away to give you privacy and prompt in service delivery.

On one occasion we had a special set up on a table reservation just because i had mentioned to the manager i was celebrating an achievement of my partner. The pub gets very crowded from evenings and there's theme evenings,salsa etc.

On such nights reserving a table on the pub side is limited to the 'outside' space which gets chilly and is a smoking zone...the management wont hold a table for you any place else which is really sad.

They packed our food for us which was really nice

Overall; really good

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrembo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Great Night Out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

We went to Brew on a Saturday night. As was expected the place was heaving. Good sign. The service was very attentive and knowledgeable. The menu is excellent and covers most tastes. I chose a steak, which was excellent. My only disappointment was my desert. I ordered the Panna cotta, an interesting combo of Panna cotta, strawberries and Balsamic reduction. All the parts went well together. The gripe was the Panna cotta. Way too much gelatin. Oh and I thoroughly recommend the tree tomato (tamarillo) Mary.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good Ambience, Good Music, Good Crowd.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I love this place as the crowd is good and mature, the Dj really knows to read the crowd and play appropriate music. Happy Hour starts from 5pm-7pm and you get a free beer or Mojito with every one you buy, thats a BOGOF. Prices are a bit on the higher side though.If you need some finger food, try the BIG Five Burger or their calamari. Yummy! All in all a very nice experience, wouldn't hesitate to go back there anytime. Their service is excellent too, even if they have a busy night.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank briankasaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brew Bistro & Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Brew Bistro & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing