We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Evening”
Review of Zafferano - CLOSED

Zafferano
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Near Victoria furniture/Southern Sun Hotel
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Evening”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

If you lack a place to go to, don't mind eating in bit's and your pocket is accomodative, you tongue will certainly enjoy itself, that much I can guarantee.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gichuki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    3
    4
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great intro to the sophisitcated side of Nairobi”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

After a long day of travel my family joined me for dinner at Zafferano in the Parklands area of Nairobi. After dealing with the culture shock that accompanies arrival we were all pleasantly surprised by the sohisticated decor and cusine of Zafferano. While it was too cool to eat on the covered patio (restaruant is on the 3rd floor of an officeish building), we sat indoors and enjoyed excellent service and truly delightful eats off their prix fix menu. Unlike some of the other reviews I see, ouor service was good and the management attentive. The restaruant wasn't full, though we were eating a bit early (7PM) for the neighborhood. There is parking at the door and security. All-in-all we would go back.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kent O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fashionable Dining?”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

After reading much about this restaurant we decided to have an early Father's Day dinner. The decor and ambiance is very nice but it ends there. Our evening was punctuated with "We are sorry" by the management. The service was poor, the food was mediocre and the waiters in-attentive. We ordered a Pineapple & Mint drink which was a disaster. The barman failed to core the pineapple leaving annoying fiber that made it difficult to drink. When we asked for another drink as this was not palatable the waitress quickly informed us that she would have to pay for it!
Management really needs to pull its socks up.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caroline294207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenya
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nic decor, poor food, unhelpful staff”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We had a family dinner here a few weeks ago. The restuarant is well set up and the ambience is lovely. Unfortuantely, we quickly foudn the staff to be unhelpful....our waitress asked for assistance to pull together tables for our group and her colleagues refused to help! That should have said it all but we looked passed that and settled down for dinner. They management served complimetnary hors d'ouvres which were average. WE ordered a selection of starters to share including the prawn cocktail (not ssure how a single serving was to be shared), the mushrooms (think they were in batter and garlic), and something else...nothing exciting. OUr main courses soon followed and again these fell short of expectations. The food was bland, the meat was hard and the overall meal was less than satifsying. We skipped desserts! THey also had this awful music in the background - some artists tryign to recreate current chart topping hits.....we asked to have the music changed but they simply turned down the volume a little....i think they didnt have anything else to play.
Overall, i was quite disappointed....doubt i will go back any time soon.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AngelSMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“High Quality Dinning!”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Large selection of available courses all cooked to perfection. I would highly recommend the apple pie for desert - any michelin star chef would be proud to have it on their menu.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank vermv01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zafferano also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing