We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice, great game”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Malewa Wildlife Lodge
Ranked #19 of 197 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very nice, great game”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Malewa wildlife lodge is a tranquil place, along a slow meandering Malewa river. The river has a few hippos in it which, along with waterbuck, Impalas and warthogs, add to the feeling of really being in the 'bush'. The rooms are probably the most spacious you can find in Kenya. Spartan but quite nice. The food is surprisingly good and well prepared - not the staple 'Utalii' kitchen seen in most other lodges.

The website claims fishing and that fishing rods/tackle are available. Neither is true. I fished for 2 days with my kids on a beautiful stretch of the river (own equipment) but there wasn't a bite to be had. In fact I was told the last time someone caught a fish was at least 6 months ago (thankfully not my poor fishing). There is no fishing equipment.

There is lots of game: waterbuck, giraffe, impala, tommies, warthogs, dikdik, duiker, hyaenas, genet and many different birds etc. The night game drive is really worth it as the game seems less spooked.

Room Tip: Most rooms are by the river, however not all are 'on' the river. If you want a room on the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sieyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
9
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Again, kudos to Gate 1 Travel for finding yet another middle of nowhere, yet middle of it all place to house their travel group! This might have been my favorite lodge on the trip, as it was just gorgeous, the individual houses we stayed in were unique and lovely and HUGE, too! I loved listening to all of the wild animal sounds at night that were just outside our windows. Tremendous! And the staff at te Malewa were so kind, helpful and friendly, as we found most everyone in Kenya to be. The food they served was excellent, too. I had a piece of fish that was cooked to perfection and some vegetables that were also cooked perfectly. Their potatoes were crispy and delicious, too and cannot go without mention.

Another nice thing they did for us was they put warm water bottles in our beds at night, which made the bed toasty warm when it was quite chilly at night.

We loved our experience here. Once in a lifetime, for sure.

Room Tip: Every cabin is well appointed and huge. There were a few along the river that looked bigger, for fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

My husband and I recently returned from a wonderful adventure in Africa organized by Goway Travel. One portion of our journey included a 14 day safari through Kenya and Tanzania. Throughout the 14 days we moved from one lodge to the next every 2-3 days. One of the lodges arranged for us in Kenya was the Malewa Wildlife Lodge. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by Peter (a young man who reminded me so much of our son) who would serve as our host for the next 2 days. We were surprised to learn that we were to be the only guests at the facility during our stay but were totally amazed at the incredible treatment we received. Each day that we were there Peter took us for afternoon walks and provided us with a wealth of information about the abundant flora and fauna found in the reserve. The dining staff went to great lengths to provide us with exceptional service and wonderful food. The staff spared no effort to provide us with everything we could want or need and took great care of our safety and comfort.
The setting was beautiful, the accommodations were great and the staff were exceptional!
Truly a place well worth visiting!

Room Tip: I expect they are all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PattiP334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
104 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

we, too, were "gate1ers" who spent one night at the malewa. i will second what has been said previously by other reviewers. they have a great staff and funky architecture. the rooms are adequate and the bathroom huge. we never did find the hot water in the shower and managed to flood the bathroom while looking for it. needless to say, the cold water shower was invigorating. our nature walk was interesting and the night game drive was also.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nealcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernards
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful Eco lodge. I won't repeat everything said in the other reviews, but I agree with with what they said. The staff was great, the activities informative and fun. The cottages were roomy, basic but nicely appointed. I commend Gate1 for finding this gem.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jethro E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Tripadvisor has this listed in Nairobi, however it is actually near Gilgil which is several hours away. It is a very nice lodge, the staff is awesome and it only has 10 cabins so it will never be crowded. We did a night game drive and saw all kind of different animals EVEN a Leopard, which is a very rare sight. We really enjoyed our say and I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fuglyamerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

A beautiful and peaceful lodge that is well off any main highway. The accommodations were clean and comfortable, with the hot water bottles in the beds at night. The staff were welcoming. Our guide was knowledgeable about the plant life as well as animal life. The food was great. This is the place for anyone who really wants to get away from city life and become one with nature. Animals seen- zebra, nubuck, wart hogs, giraffes, hyena and one that I had not heard of before- a dick dick.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
10.0 mi away
Ololo Safari Lodge
Ololo Safari Lodge
#3 of 197 in Nairobi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Emakoko
The Emakoko
#2 of 197 in Nairobi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
3.5 mi away
Wildebeest Eco Camp
Wildebeest Eco Camp
#2 of 255 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Karen Country Lodge
Karen Country Lodge
#7 of 197 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
7.5 mi away
Casa Bella Suites
Casa Bella Suites
#5 of 197 in Nairobi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Troy Nairobi
Hotel Troy Nairobi
#11 of 255 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malewa Wildlife Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malewa Wildlife Lodge

Property: Malewa Wildlife Lodge
Address: Nakuru-Naivasha Road, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 197 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Hotel Class:3 star — Malewa Wildlife Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing