We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Warm, Wonderful, Unique Lodge Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Malewa Wildlife Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Malewa Wildlife Lodge
Save
You added Malewa Wildlife Lodge to your Saves list
Ranked #17 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Warm, Wonderful, Unique Lodge Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

My husband and I recently returned from a wonderful adventure in Africa organized by Goway Travel. One portion of our journey included a 14 day safari through Kenya and Tanzania. Throughout the 14 days we moved from one lodge to the next every 2-3 days. One of the lodges arranged for us in Kenya was the Malewa Wildlife Lodge. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by Peter (a young man who reminded me so much of our son) who would serve as our host for the next 2 days. We were surprised to learn that we were to be the only guests at the facility during our stay but were totally amazed at the incredible treatment we received. Each day that we were there Peter took us for afternoon walks and provided us with a wealth of information about the abundant flora and fauna found in the reserve. The dining staff went to great lengths to provide us with exceptional service and wonderful food. The staff spared no effort to provide us with everything we could want or need and took great care of our safety and comfort.
The setting was beautiful, the accommodations were great and the staff were exceptional!
Truly a place well worth visiting!

Room Tip: I expect they are all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PattiP334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
9
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
104 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

we, too, were "gate1ers" who spent one night at the malewa. i will second what has been said previously by other reviewers. they have a great staff and funky architecture. the rooms are adequate and the bathroom huge. we never did find the hot water in the shower and managed to flood the bathroom while looking for it. needless to say, the cold water shower was invigorating. our nature walk was interesting and the night game drive was also.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nealcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernards
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful Eco lodge. I won't repeat everything said in the other reviews, but I agree with with what they said. The staff was great, the activities informative and fun. The cottages were roomy, basic but nicely appointed. I commend Gate1 for finding this gem.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jethro E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Tripadvisor has this listed in Nairobi, however it is actually near Gilgil which is several hours away. It is a very nice lodge, the staff is awesome and it only has 10 cabins so it will never be crowded. We did a night game drive and saw all kind of different animals EVEN a Leopard, which is a very rare sight. We really enjoyed our say and I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fuglyamerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

A beautiful and peaceful lodge that is well off any main highway. The accommodations were clean and comfortable, with the hot water bottles in the beds at night. The staff were welcoming. Our guide was knowledgeable about the plant life as well as animal life. The food was great. This is the place for anyone who really wants to get away from city life and become one with nature. Animals seen- zebra, nubuck, wart hogs, giraffes, hyena and one that I had not heard of before- a dick dick.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed here only one night as part of a Gate1 safari, and it was an excellent spot. Good game viewing, combined with an optional night game drive and good food and accommodations made for a great stay. The cabins are basic, but nicely done, some overlooking the river. We had Cape Buffalo walking along the trail behind our cabin towards the lodge early in the morning. The nature walk they do is excellent, and puts you on the ground and sometimes close to the animals. The food was good and the hot water bottles in the bed at night appreciated, as it does get cool this high up.
All in all we would recommend this place wholeheartedly.

Room Tip: The rooms in the cabins overlooking the river are great. The "honeymoon" cabin even has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CTWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I could only repeat everything that was said in the other reviews here. It was an amazingly magical experience, right down to the hot water bottles that were placed in our beds to take off the night time chill!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flaming0gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
4.8 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 366 reviews
5.0 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
5.3 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#13 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 835 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Emakoko
The Emakoko
#2 of 185 in Nairobi
5.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ololo Safari Lodge
Ololo Safari Lodge
#3 of 185 in Nairobi
5.0 of 5 stars 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malewa Wildlife Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malewa Wildlife Lodge

Property: Malewa Wildlife Lodge
Address: Nakuru-Naivasha Road, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Hotel Class:4 star — Malewa Wildlife Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing