We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Amazing experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Malewa Wildlife Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Malewa Wildlife Lodge
Save
You added Malewa Wildlife Lodge to your Saves list
Ranked #17 of 183 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Bernards
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful Eco lodge. I won't repeat everything said in the other reviews, but I agree with with what they said. The staff was great, the activities informative and fun. The cottages were roomy, basic but nicely appointed. I commend Gate1 for finding this gem.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jethro E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
9
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Tripadvisor has this listed in Nairobi, however it is actually near Gilgil which is several hours away. It is a very nice lodge, the staff is awesome and it only has 10 cabins so it will never be crowded. We did a night game drive and saw all kind of different animals EVEN a Leopard, which is a very rare sight. We really enjoyed our say and I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fuglyamerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

A beautiful and peaceful lodge that is well off any main highway. The accommodations were clean and comfortable, with the hot water bottles in the beds at night. The staff were welcoming. Our guide was knowledgeable about the plant life as well as animal life. The food was great. This is the place for anyone who really wants to get away from city life and become one with nature. Animals seen- zebra, nubuck, wart hogs, giraffes, hyena and one that I had not heard of before- a dick dick.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed here only one night as part of a Gate1 safari, and it was an excellent spot. Good game viewing, combined with an optional night game drive and good food and accommodations made for a great stay. The cabins are basic, but nicely done, some overlooking the river. We had Cape Buffalo walking along the trail behind our cabin towards the lodge early in the morning. The nature walk they do is excellent, and puts you on the ground and sometimes close to the animals. The food was good and the hot water bottles in the bed at night appreciated, as it does get cool this high up.
All in all we would recommend this place wholeheartedly.

Room Tip: The rooms in the cabins overlooking the river are great. The "honeymoon" cabin even has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CTWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I could only repeat everything that was said in the other reviews here. It was an amazingly magical experience, right down to the hot water bottles that were placed in our beds to take off the night time chill!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flaming0gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Sally & David were such good hosts, they greeted us upon arrival. Their staff were so helpful with taking our bags to our individual huts. While heading to the lodge we saw several rare Rothschild Giraffe, Spotted Hyena, Cape Buffalos. We went on dusk hike with Paul the Malewa Wildlife Guide and viewed several Wart Hogs with their young, so funny to watch them eat. In fact while having our in creditable dinner of grilled lamb chops and vegetables a male Wart Hog was enjoying the grass lawn down from the open dinning area. You could even hear him ripping up the grass, I commented to Sally that I liked their lawn mower in the bush.

Room Tip: There are some huts nearer to the river area where the hippos feed, but all the huts are incredible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We visited this lodge on September 29th, 2013. We really enjoyed it. The accommodations were unique, clean and large. Staff is very helpful and seem to take pride in their work. We booked this lodge through Gate 1 Travel. It was one of two lodges we stayed at. We pick it as the best of the two. if we would ever return this would be a must to stay at again. You get up close and personal with nature. We saw so much on the game drives. We also enjoyed meeting people from the village. All around a great time.

Room Tip: All huts were nice, any in am sure would be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaybsix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 349 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#7 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont The Norfolk
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 811 reviews
House of Waine
#13 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 222 reviews
The Emakoko
#2 of 183 in Nairobi
5.0 of 5 stars 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malewa Wildlife Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malewa Wildlife Lodge

Property: Malewa Wildlife Lodge
Address: Nakuru-Naivasha Road, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 183 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Hotel Class:4 star — Malewa Wildlife Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing