We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“What a great place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Malewa Wildlife Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Malewa Wildlife Lodge
Ranked #18 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Lisbon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“What a great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed here only one night as part of a Gate1 safari, and it was an excellent spot. Good game viewing, combined with an optional night game drive and good food and accommodations made for a great stay. The cabins are basic, but nicely done, some overlooking the river. We had Cape Buffalo walking along the trail behind our cabin towards the lodge early in the morning. The nature walk they do is excellent, and puts you on the ground and sometimes close to the animals. The food was good and the hot water bottles in the bed at night appreciated, as it does get cool this high up.
All in all we would recommend this place wholeheartedly.

Room Tip: The rooms in the cabins overlooking the river are great. The "honeymoon" cabin even has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CTWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
9
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

I could only repeat everything that was said in the other reviews here. It was an amazingly magical experience, right down to the hot water bottles that were placed in our beds to take off the night time chill!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flaming0gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Sally & David were such good hosts, they greeted us upon arrival. Their staff were so helpful with taking our bags to our individual huts. While heading to the lodge we saw several rare Rothschild Giraffe, Spotted Hyena, Cape Buffalos. We went on dusk hike with Paul the Malewa Wildlife Guide and viewed several Wart Hogs with their young, so funny to watch them eat. In fact while having our in creditable dinner of grilled lamb chops and vegetables a male Wart Hog was enjoying the grass lawn down from the open dinning area. You could even hear him ripping up the grass, I commented to Sally that I liked their lawn mower in the bush.

Room Tip: There are some huts nearer to the river area where the hippos feed, but all the huts are incredible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We visited this lodge on September 29th, 2013. We really enjoyed it. The accommodations were unique, clean and large. Staff is very helpful and seem to take pride in their work. We booked this lodge through Gate 1 Travel. It was one of two lodges we stayed at. We pick it as the best of the two. if we would ever return this would be a must to stay at again. You get up close and personal with nature. We saw so much on the game drives. We also enjoyed meeting people from the village. All around a great time.

Room Tip: All huts were nice, any in am sure would be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaybsix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

This lodge was my favorite accomodation during our 8 day Kenya Safari with Gate 1. The staff was friendly and attentive and the meals were excellent. Our room was a river suite and we LOVED it! Peter took us on a nature walk and did a fantastic job of explaining medicinal plants and guiding us through the incredible scenery. The night time game drive was also exciting as we got to see a den of Hyenas with several babies that came right up to the vehicle! I would highly recommend this lodge and only wish we could have stayed here longer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geuleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Just returned from a safari trip and stayed here with a Gate 1 package on September 8th. Our entire stay was fantastic! The rooms are amazing, some directly on the Malewa River overlooking incredible scenery. The entire staff was outstanding. We did the nature walk, and our guide Peter was extremely knowledgeable and had a great personality. The food was delicious as well, be sure to try the soups they were wonderful. The game drives were great, we saw a ton on the daytime drive, and on the night were up close and personal with a hyena den. Could not have been happier with our stay, highly recommend this place for a real African experience

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bunner11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed during a safari trip. The cabins were adorable I felt like I was in a hobbits house until I walked in. The rooms were spacious and very clean. At night its cold and they actuallu have turn down service and bed warming. We slept with the sound of hippos below in the river bank. Went on a nature hike and it was amazing!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoreLama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
4.8 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
5.5 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#5 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
5.3 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#15 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
9.9 mi away
Ololo Safari Lodge
Ololo Safari Lodge
#3 of 190 in Nairobi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Emakoko
The Emakoko
#2 of 190 in Nairobi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malewa Wildlife Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malewa Wildlife Lodge

Property: Malewa Wildlife Lodge
Address: Nakuru-Naivasha Road, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Hotel Class:4 star — Malewa Wildlife Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing