We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flamingogal”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Malewa Wildlife Lodge
Ranked #21 of 222 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I could only repeat everything that was said in the other reviews here. It was an amazingly magical experience, right down to the hot water bottles that were placed in our beds to take off the night time chill!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flaming0gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 36 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2013

Sally & David were such good hosts, they greeted us upon arrival. Their staff were so helpful with taking our bags to our individual huts. While heading to the lodge we saw several rare Rothschild Giraffe, Spotted Hyena, Cape Buffalos. We went on dusk hike with Paul the Malewa Wildlife Guide and viewed several Wart Hogs with their young, so funny to watch them eat. In fact while having our in creditable dinner of grilled lamb chops and vegetables a male Wart Hog was enjoying the grass lawn down from the open dinning area. You could even hear him ripping up the grass, I commented to Sally that I liked their lawn mower in the bush.

Room Tip: There are some huts nearer to the river area where the hippos feed, but all the huts are incredible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We visited this lodge on September 29th, 2013. We really enjoyed it. The accommodations were unique, clean and large. Staff is very helpful and seem to take pride in their work. We booked this lodge through Gate 1 Travel. It was one of two lodges we stayed at. We pick it as the best of the two. if we would ever return this would be a must to stay at again. You get up close and personal with nature. We saw so much on the game drives. We also enjoyed meeting people from the village. All around a great time.

Room Tip: All huts were nice, any in am sure would be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaybsix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This lodge was my favorite accomodation during our 8 day Kenya Safari with Gate 1. The staff was friendly and attentive and the meals were excellent. Our room was a river suite and we LOVED it! Peter took us on a nature walk and did a fantastic job of explaining medicinal plants and guiding us through the incredible scenery. The night time game drive was also exciting as we got to see a den of Hyenas with several babies that came right up to the vehicle! I would highly recommend this lodge and only wish we could have stayed here longer.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geuleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Just returned from a safari trip and stayed here with a Gate 1 package on September 8th. Our entire stay was fantastic! The rooms are amazing, some directly on the Malewa River overlooking incredible scenery. The entire staff was outstanding. We did the nature walk, and our guide Peter was extremely knowledgeable and had a great personality. The food was delicious as well, be sure to try the soups they were wonderful. The game drives were great, we saw a ton on the daytime drive, and on the night were up close and personal with a hyena den. Could not have been happier with our stay, highly recommend this place for a real African experience

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bunner11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed during a safari trip. The cabins were adorable I felt like I was in a hobbits house until I walked in. The rooms were spacious and very clean. At night its cold and they actuallu have turn down service and bed warming. We slept with the sound of hippos below in the river bank. Went on a nature hike and it was amazing!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoreLama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Beautiful location, excellent and hospitable staff, nice with children and are very flexible. You do feel that they are doing their utmost to make you feel at home. I also like the way the lodge is integrated with the community and environment.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HBurggraaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Ololo Safari Lodge
#2 of 222 in Nairobi
135 reviews
The Emakoko
#3 of 222 in Nairobi
205 reviews
Casa Bella Suites
#5 of 222 in Nairobi
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Hotel Troy Nairobi
#11 of 287 in Nairobi
94 reviews
The Heron Portico
#8 of 169 in Nairobi
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malewa Wildlife Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malewa Wildlife Lodge

Address: Nakuru-Naivasha Road, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 222 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Hotel Class:3 star — Malewa Wildlife Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing