We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Incredible African Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Malewa Wildlife Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Malewa Wildlife Lodge
Save
You added Malewa Wildlife Lodge to your Saves list
Ranked #17 of 183 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Incredible African Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Sally & David were such good hosts, they greeted us upon arrival. Their staff were so helpful with taking our bags to our individual huts. While heading to the lodge we saw several rare Rothschild Giraffe, Spotted Hyena, Cape Buffalos. We went on dusk hike with Paul the Malewa Wildlife Guide and viewed several Wart Hogs with their young, so funny to watch them eat. In fact while having our in creditable dinner of grilled lamb chops and vegetables a male Wart Hog was enjoying the grass lawn down from the open dinning area. You could even hear him ripping up the grass, I commented to Sally that I liked their lawn mower in the bush.

Room Tip: There are some huts nearer to the river area where the hippos feed, but all the huts are incredible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
9
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Terre Haute, Indiana
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We visited this lodge on September 29th, 2013. We really enjoyed it. The accommodations were unique, clean and large. Staff is very helpful and seem to take pride in their work. We booked this lodge through Gate 1 Travel. It was one of two lodges we stayed at. We pick it as the best of the two. if we would ever return this would be a must to stay at again. You get up close and personal with nature. We saw so much on the game drives. We also enjoyed meeting people from the village. All around a great time.

Room Tip: All huts were nice, any in am sure would be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaybsix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This lodge was my favorite accomodation during our 8 day Kenya Safari with Gate 1. The staff was friendly and attentive and the meals were excellent. Our room was a river suite and we LOVED it! Peter took us on a nature walk and did a fantastic job of explaining medicinal plants and guiding us through the incredible scenery. The night time game drive was also exciting as we got to see a den of Hyenas with several babies that came right up to the vehicle! I would highly recommend this lodge and only wish we could have stayed here longer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geuleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Just returned from a safari trip and stayed here with a Gate 1 package on September 8th. Our entire stay was fantastic! The rooms are amazing, some directly on the Malewa River overlooking incredible scenery. The entire staff was outstanding. We did the nature walk, and our guide Peter was extremely knowledgeable and had a great personality. The food was delicious as well, be sure to try the soups they were wonderful. The game drives were great, we saw a ton on the daytime drive, and on the night were up close and personal with a hyena den. Could not have been happier with our stay, highly recommend this place for a real African experience

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bunner11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed during a safari trip. The cabins were adorable I felt like I was in a hobbits house until I walked in. The rooms were spacious and very clean. At night its cold and they actuallu have turn down service and bed warming. We slept with the sound of hippos below in the river bank. Went on a nature hike and it was amazing!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoreLama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Beautiful location, excellent and hospitable staff, nice with children and are very flexible. You do feel that they are doing their utmost to make you feel at home. I also like the way the lodge is integrated with the community and environment.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HBurggraaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

While on a Gate 1 Kenyan Safari adventure we had the pleasure of staying at the Malewa Wildlife Lodge for one night, I wish it would have been more. The property is in the preserve and there are no fences, so it is not uncommon to have wildlife roaming around the grounds. If one needs to leave their cabin after dark you walk out the door and wave the provided flashlight/torch and an escort will come to you and escort you anywhere you need to go. Each room is an individual isolated cabin, offering ultra privacy. The cabins are rustic yet elegant. The staff were extremely friendly and the service was awesome. We went on a walking safari and learned a lot of the fauna and flora from a very knowledgeable guide. Later in the evening we went on a night safari in a safari vehicle. Plenty of wild life to see and photograph. I got some amazing photos both during the day and the night drive. The food was excellent and the Tusker beer was cold! Our cabin was huge and had a king sized bed, wrap around porch, a crows foot bathtub on the porch and a wonderful view of the Malewa River. There are no modern conveniences like television, telephone, or internet, however they are not missed while staying here. The hot water bottles under the covers at night was a pleasant surprise. Also, Maasai Mara is very eco-friendly. Another pleasant surprise was during dinner, they had posted that dessert was Chef's Surprise, the lights where dimmed and the staff came out singing happy birthday to my wife in Swahili, and they had a cake wishing her a happy birthday and us a happy anniversary, as we were celebrating both. I had casually mentioned it to my Gate 1 rep when I booked the trip. Gate 1 took care of all the bookings and logistics and everything worked out smoothly with no snafus. This wasn't a trip it was an amazing adventure. Thanks Gate 1.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mundo696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 349 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#7 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont The Norfolk
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 811 reviews
House of Waine
#13 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 222 reviews
The Emakoko
#2 of 183 in Nairobi
5.0 of 5 stars 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malewa Wildlife Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malewa Wildlife Lodge

Property: Malewa Wildlife Lodge
Address: Nakuru-Naivasha Road, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 183 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Hotel Class:4 star — Malewa Wildlife Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing