We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic but elegant.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Malewa Wildlife Lodge
Ranked #23 of 204 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Bronx, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Rustic but elegant.”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

While on a Gate 1 Kenyan Safari adventure we had the pleasure of staying at the Malewa Wildlife Lodge for one night, I wish it would have been more. The property is in the preserve and there are no fences, so it is not uncommon to have wildlife roaming around the grounds. If one needs to leave their cabin after dark you walk out the door and wave the provided flashlight/torch and an escort will come to you and escort you anywhere you need to go. Each room is an individual isolated cabin, offering ultra privacy. The cabins are rustic yet elegant. The staff were extremely friendly and the service was awesome. We went on a walking safari and learned a lot of the fauna and flora from a very knowledgeable guide. Later in the evening we went on a night safari in a safari vehicle. Plenty of wild life to see and photograph. I got some amazing photos both during the day and the night drive. The food was excellent and the Tusker beer was cold! Our cabin was huge and had a king sized bed, wrap around porch, a crows foot bathtub on the porch and a wonderful view of the Malewa River. There are no modern conveniences like television, telephone, or internet, however they are not missed while staying here. The hot water bottles under the covers at night was a pleasant surprise. Also, Maasai Mara is very eco-friendly. Another pleasant surprise was during dinner, they had posted that dessert was Chef's Surprise, the lights where dimmed and the staff came out singing happy birthday to my wife in Swahili, and they had a cake wishing her a happy birthday and us a happy anniversary, as we were celebrating both. I had casually mentioned it to my Gate 1 rep when I booked the trip. Gate 1 took care of all the bookings and logistics and everything worked out smoothly with no snafus. This wasn't a trip it was an amazing adventure. Thanks Gate 1.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mundo696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
9
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We spent two wonderful days at this great quiet lodge. Walked around the park light setting to see many local animals. The sun-downer and evening game drive were experiences not to be missed. The setting, staff and accommodation were worth the rough drive into the lodge.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We were fortunate to stay at the Malewa Wildlife Lodge in February 2013. There were only 8 Albertans at the time and we were treated loyally. We were there for Valentines Night and they set up and decorated a table by the wood burning fireplace and served a fabulous dinner. Our lodges were huge and very clean and so cool that our hot water came from a woodburning stove. The wildlife viewing tour was exceptional along with the hippo viewing bridge. We found the staff to be very accommodating and so personable. We loved the hot water bottles put in your beds every night. Would highly recommend this secluded property if you are travelling Africa.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DENISEF499110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The rooms are all small separate buildings and are very large. We spent Christmas eve and day here and was our third stop on our safari. The staff are very personable and really accomodating. What we liked about this place was the solar power, the system used for hot water, the hot water bottles brought in to warm us in the evenings. It was such a peaceful, quiet place where you could lie in bed and hear the hippos nearby. This was the most authentic accomodations we stayed in and hope that they don't modernize.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpolinuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaRiviere MB
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Spent Nov. 6 and 7 at this lovely spot, as the 3rd stop on a 2 week safari. Manager Nassil did everything possible to ensure our stay was perfect. All the cabins were full, so we were lucky enough to be lodged in the honeymoon cabin, complete with claw bathtub on the deck. We could hear the hippos in the river below, but couldn't see them from the deck. The food, particularly the soups were declicious. Hot water bottles in the beds were lovely, as it does get chilly in the evenings. The cabins are huge and well kept. Fireplaces in the communal areas were very welcome in the evenings, and wifi excellent there also. Would love to be able to go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueraykozak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Spent a weekend at the lodge with some colleagues. Absolutely enjoyable. It is quiet, secluded and simply a perfect place to do nothing at all... or perhaps a light game drive or walk (few real predators in the area). Rooms were overly large with nice decor. Showers were amazing (large, spacious, great temperature, bath products). Staff were friendly and attentive. The road to the lodge is of poor quality, but they provide a 4x4 to meet guests at an entrance gate a few miles from the lodge near the main road.

Again, a great place, but a few suggested improvements: Food, while of good quality, portions were on the smaller side as compared to other lodges I have been to. The marketing of being able to bicycle and fish is a bit of a stretch as the pathways are a bit rough and you're more likely to catch a nice tan than any fish on a hook. The river is poorly stocked with fish.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

I really do not want to give this little place a bad review as we had a wonderful time there but anyone who is thinking of booking there does not to be aware of a few things.

The rooms:
Accommodaton is either in huts or in river suites. We were first put in a hut but did not want to stay there. It was a sunny day but the rooms were cold, dark and there is no outdoor space with the room. We then moved to the river suite. At least they were light and there was a balcony to sit out on. However also that room is quite cold and needs a bit of TLC: paint is peeling off the walls, the shower is showing its age. The room was massive but not cosy, no nice soft furnishings.

The main area
Similar to the rooms, the main area needs sprucing up with nice soft furnishings, a library and a nice outdoor seating area where you could relax in the afternoon in the sun.
I know they want to be eco and all that but they can make the area in front of the lodge a bit more genteel.

Food
The food is failry basic but nice

Staff
Martin is simply wonderful and will do anything to make your stay more pleasant

Nightdrives
Hardly recommended. We even saw a leopard!

All in all as said, we had a great time thanks to Martin, George and the wonderful night drives and bush walks. However we felt a bit miserable with the room and the main area. It was just not cosy and welcoming. Someone needs to give the place a massive overhaul

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chocolate74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
5.0 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
4.9 mi away
The Heron Portico
The Heron Portico
#5 of 164 in Nairobi
475 reviews
5.1 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 164 in Nairobi
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Ololo Safari Lodge
Ololo Safari Lodge
#2 of 204 in Nairobi
112 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Emakoko
The Emakoko
#3 of 204 in Nairobi
184 reviews
7.5 mi away
Casa Bella Suites
Casa Bella Suites
#5 of 204 in Nairobi
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malewa Wildlife Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malewa Wildlife Lodge

Property: Malewa Wildlife Lodge
Address: Nakuru-Naivasha Road, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 204 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Hotel Class:3 star — Malewa Wildlife Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing