We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Expensive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tokyo Restaurant Karen

Tokyo Restaurant Karen
Ranked #187 of 513 Restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Korean, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Tokyo Restaurant is a Japanese/Korean restaurant that has over 10 years of experience serving top class food in Nairobi. Our founder and Head Chef is Mr. Youngho (Philip) Shin, who is one of the only licensed chefs in Japanese food in Kenya. He has over 30 years of experience in the restaurant and hotel business. Before coming to Kenya, he spent 10 years working for a 5 Star hotel in South Korea, where he learned his trade. With this level of experience, you can rest assured that food coming from his hands will be the best in the country. We recently closed our Karen branch and opened a new branch in Kolloh Road, Lavington, which will now be our main and only branch. We are open for dinners only for now, but expect to do the grand opening in September.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

A very nice place, food is good and the ambiance great, the location is also super. The only downside is the pricing. All in a all a good place to treat yourself once in a while

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Waryblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    12
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
107 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great sushi and sashimi platter”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

But unfortunately the crispy duck was tasteless and the wine list limited and very expensive - even by Nairobi standards. The service was attentive and cheerful at the beginning but at the end of the evening, we would have liked to order a coffee and brandy but we couldn't attract the attention of a waiter even though they were standing chatting with each other next to the till so we just paid the bill and left. It wasn't a bad experience, just not a terribly good one...we will go there again, it deserves a second chance...

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travellingnomad11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

I have been to this restaurant only once, but the experience was awesome. The food is really good and tasty, servers are nice and the whole place is nicely decorated. One important difference with most of fancy restaurants in Nairobi, is that they include the taxes in the menu prices, so at the end you don't have horrible suprises with the bill after the meal... (Nairobi has really good restaurants, but the problem with most of them is that they don't include the taxes + services in the menu prices... not really transparent I think...). Is a good place to go, I recommend it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kathytr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Personal service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

I have eaten here a few times on my trips to Kenya. Each time the food and the service has been great. The last time I was there I took a friend who had never tried Japanese food before and they really enjoyed it. The highlight of the night was being greeted by and then chatting with the chef. He is actually Korean but trained and worked as a chef in Japan. The atmosphere is wonderful and the personal service simply goes the extra mile.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RobCinOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

The ambience and the food is wow, the serene is very nice and very welcoming staff

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Perminus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tokyo Restaurant Karen also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Tokyo Restaurant Karen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing