We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Hotel website and payment is a scam!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nomad Palace Hotel Nairobi

Nomad Palace Hotel Nairobi
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nomad Palace Hotel Nairobi
Ranked #98 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hotel website and payment is a scam!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

I tried to book a night's stay with this hotel for September 2013 - I made the booking directly on the hotel website about 2 months before. When you book directly with the website, it requires you to pay immediately. When I made the booking, I received no confirmation or evidence that they had received my booking or my PAYMENT at all. I tried writing an email to the hotel, but received NO response for 2 weeks. As a result, I tried to cancel my booking.

When I tried to cancel my booking, I finally received a response from the hotel telling me that they did have my booking & saying that if I wanted to cancel, I should do so from the website directly. However, there is absolutely no where on the website that allows you to cancel bookings. After a few back and forth e-mails trying to explain that there is no way to cancel on their website, they said they would refund my payment but had to charge me 10% for cancellation EVEN THOUGH there was no where on their website or during the booking process explaining that there would be a cancellation fee of 10%!!! I asked them about this, and received absolutely no response. To this day (today being the 21 October 2013), I have received no refund of my payment AT ALL let alone only a 10% charge. They kept my entire payment.

A word of warning to everyone thinking of booking here - don't! These people stole my money!!! If you must book with them, I highly recommend doing it through an external agent and not with the hotel directly as they are not trustworthy. I tried dealing with this issue through my credit card company & through Pay Pal, but neither of them were able to deal with it. Please please do not book here - they are scammers!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jennzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    11
    13
    5
    5
See reviews for
3
17
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

hotel is nice. neat and comfortable. cant compare to other hotel with the same price. i enjoy my stay there. there staff.. (Anne, Janet and others ) the always smile nd friendly... i recommend the hotel. if u r look for 3 star hotel like other europe, usa uk 3 star hotel go Nomad Palace Hotel... it really nice hotel... Morufu Opayele...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wiseyoho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

If you concerned about safety, then I will recommend you stay away from this location. There are other budget hotels in better locations in Nairobl. I booked a room here because I had stayed in a similar hotel in Libreville but was totally surprised about the location that I turned right around and went to look for another hotel. I'm sure the beds will be nice and the rooms comfy but my safety is more important.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
3 Thank Colo_mentality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

smiley staff, tasty foods ,breakfast variation ,comfortable , excellent clean room service, excellent price,
The Hotel is in a bad area (but the security is good)
Yes, it is noisy outside, but the rooms are very big and spotlessly clean. The bed is so wide you get lost in it. The WiFi is super fast, the food is good, check-in painless and the shuttle taxi driver an absolute joy. Absolutely great value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank khaled E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubumbashi, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Level Contributor
108 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

The Hotel is in a bad area (but the security is good), about 18km from the Airport and there is a lot of roadworks on the way....BUT... the staff was A-M-A-Z-I-N-G! What great attitudes, what great service, what great smiles form all of them. Other Hotels can learn from these guys what 'going the extra mile' means. It can be summed up in the F&B/restaurant manager's words: if I treat you well, you will come back with 4 more. Yes, it is noisy outside, but the rooms are very big and spotlessly clean. The bed is so wide you get lost in it. The WiFi is super fast, the food is good, check-in painless and the shuttle taxi driver an absolute joy. Absolutely great value for money.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back of the Hotel, off the road. It is quieter :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meganinafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Ok, so firstly if you are looking for luxury then click on this place isn't for you. On the plus side it cost me £82 for two nights for two people, with a $USD 20.00 dollar pick up. Its in a noisy neighbourhood, which is frankly a bit slum like, although its safe enough with large iron bars on the outside, the noise is just normal street life and not bars and drunks.
If you need a place to get your head down for the couple of nights, this isn't a bad stop, its functional, clean, staff are efficient and friendly, and decent facilities including WiFi. Breakfast was decent both mornings I was there. It definitely caters to the Somali business man, but I preferred it.

Bawler on a Budget

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BawleronaBudget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
134 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Sometimes I just don't want to pay the high prices. I booked this based on Trip's reviews that turned out to be largely accurate. I worry sometimes what some people call nice. But this hotel's reviews on this site was generally fair. AWESOME for value. I paid less than $45 for a night in a town where $200 can be routine for very ordinary hotels. It was a $20 ride each way from the airport so factor that in. The place is in an AWFUL neighborhood with lots of road construction and dust. Keep that in mind. It is loaded with Somalis. Last time I checked they were still human. So that mention is for information only for those who assess the world differently. Room was CLEAN, with working satellite flat screen TV and WiFi. The building was modern, clean, and secure despite the neighborhood. If you are not pretentious, this is way above budget. It is really two star equivalent basic. Clean bed, not noisy at night, comfortable, hot water, functional with a restaurant downstairs opened fairly late. If you like to play it safe, then maybe not for you. It is in the ghetto. But it is not ghetto.

Room Tip: Higher floors recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doctorbird41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Oryx Hotel
#117 of 161 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Hotel Central Park Nairobi
#88 of 161 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Seldom Hotel
#65 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Central Business District
The Clarion Hotel
The Clarion Hotel
#102 of 161 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
West Breeze Hotel
West Breeze Hotel
#40 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Kima Hotel
#119 of 161 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomad Palace Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomad Palace Hotel Nairobi

Property: Nomad Palace Hotel Nairobi
Address: General Wairungi Street | Pumwani district, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Nomad Palace Hotel Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Nomad Palace Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing