We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is the small things that count”

Nomad Palace Hotel Nairobi
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nomad Palace Hotel Nairobi
Ranked #110 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The Hotel is in a bad area (but the security is good), about 18km from the Airport and there is a lot of roadworks on the way....BUT... the staff was A-M-A-Z-I-N-G! What great attitudes, what great service, what great smiles form all of them. Other Hotels can learn from these guys what 'going the extra mile' means. It can be summed up in the F&B/restaurant manager's words: if I treat you well, you will come back with 4 more. Yes, it is noisy outside, but the rooms are very big and spotlessly clean. The bed is so wide you get lost in it. The WiFi is super fast, the food is good, check-in painless and the shuttle taxi driver an absolute joy. Absolutely great value for money.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back of the Hotel, off the road. It is quieter :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meganinafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 43 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2013

Ok, so firstly if you are looking for luxury then click on this place isn't for you. On the plus side it cost me £82 for two nights for two people, with a $USD 20.00 dollar pick up. Its in a noisy neighbourhood, which is frankly a bit slum like, although its safe enough with large iron bars on the outside, the noise is just normal street life and not bars and drunks.
If you need a place to get your head down for the couple of nights, this isn't a bad stop, its functional, clean, staff are efficient and friendly, and decent facilities including WiFi. Breakfast was decent both mornings I was there. It definitely caters to the Somali business man, but I preferred it.

Bawler on a Budget

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BawleronaBudget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Sometimes I just don't want to pay the high prices. I booked this based on Trip's reviews that turned out to be largely accurate. I worry sometimes what some people call nice. But this hotel's reviews on this site was generally fair. AWESOME for value. I paid less than $45 for a night in a town where $200 can be routine for very ordinary hotels. It was a $20 ride each way from the airport so factor that in. The place is in an AWFUL neighborhood with lots of road construction and dust. Keep that in mind. It is loaded with Somalis. Last time I checked they were still human. So that mention is for information only for those who assess the world differently. Room was CLEAN, with working satellite flat screen TV and WiFi. The building was modern, clean, and secure despite the neighborhood. If you are not pretentious, this is way above budget. It is really two star equivalent basic. Clean bed, not noisy at night, comfortable, hot water, functional with a restaurant downstairs opened fairly late. If you like to play it safe, then maybe not for you. It is in the ghetto. But it is not ghetto.

Room Tip: Higher floors recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doctorbird41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Booked in with no problems, secure parking and helpful staff. Mobile phone reception, amazing 3G with top ups available from the kiosk outside the hotel the area is under construction a new road is being built so expect to find a diversion

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrnMrsJohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 1 month I really like the hotel and staff was very friendly and welcoming I was amazed by the security they where so nice and strict the area is very nice there is a lot of restaurant and shops good prices I was walking around 01am and was very safe I talk yo to the local people and there are friendly mainly from somalia Busines people and people from Usa and uk all coming to do Busines I will go and book again this year and recommend it the price is very cheap too compare to ather hotels near by my best stay in Nairobi ever omar

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank abdikarim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at the Nomad Palace Hotel for 1 night; the first night when we arrived in Nairobi.
It is almost impossible to reach the hotel. Due to roadworks all over the city, there are almost no roads that lead to the hotel. It is all mud.

The hotel is not really close to the airport, as we first thought it would be (when you check it on bookings.com, it shows on the map that it is quit nearby the airport). it took our taxi driver more than 1 hour to get there. The neighbourhood is really horrible. So when you are finally in the hotel, you can not go out any more.

The rooms are really spacious and clean. There is wifi and also a restaurant. For 1 night it is a good hotel for the price that you pay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TvH1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We choose this hotel for a 1 night overstay in Nairobi. Due to road work it takes a long time to reach the airport, about 1,5 hours. When we finally arrived we were told not to leave the hotel anymore (4PM) because it is to dangerous on the streets..., the area looked dangerous indeed!
Inside the hotel is pretty well maintained with nice big rooms. However, we had no hot water, and were both sick the day after we had dinner in this place. So, only positive is the room, everything else: not worth to go here!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ingriddutchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
JKIA Airport Hotel
#127 of 169 in Nairobi
6 reviews
Hotel Central Park Nairobi
#113 of 169 in Nairobi
39 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
The Clarion Hotel
The Clarion Hotel
#86 of 169 in Nairobi
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seldom Hotel
#98 of 169 in Nairobi
6 reviews
Hotel Southern Blue
#104 of 169 in Nairobi
5 reviews
West Breeze Hotel
#50 of 169 in Nairobi
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomad Palace Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomad Palace Hotel Nairobi

Address: General Wairungi Street | Pumwani district, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range: $43 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nomad Palace Hotel Nairobi 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nomad Palace Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing