We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotel in Nairobi”

Nomad Palace Hotel Nairobi
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nomad Palace Hotel Nairobi
Ranked #105 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the best hotel in Nairobi”
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 1 month I really like the hotel and staff was very friendly and welcoming I was amazed by the security they where so nice and strict the area is very nice there is a lot of restaurant and shops good prices I was walking around 01am and was very safe I talk yo to the local people and there are friendly mainly from somalia Busines people and people from Usa and uk all coming to do Busines I will go and book again this year and recommend it the price is very cheap too compare to ather hotels near by my best stay in Nairobi ever omar

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank abdikarim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    11
    14
    5
    5
See reviews for
3
17
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Den Haag, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at the Nomad Palace Hotel for 1 night; the first night when we arrived in Nairobi.
It is almost impossible to reach the hotel. Due to roadworks all over the city, there are almost no roads that lead to the hotel. It is all mud.

The hotel is not really close to the airport, as we first thought it would be (when you check it on bookings.com, it shows on the map that it is quit nearby the airport). it took our taxi driver more than 1 hour to get there. The neighbourhood is really horrible. So when you are finally in the hotel, you can not go out any more.

The rooms are really spacious and clean. There is wifi and also a restaurant. For 1 night it is a good hotel for the price that you pay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TvH1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We choose this hotel for a 1 night overstay in Nairobi. Due to road work it takes a long time to reach the airport, about 1,5 hours. When we finally arrived we were told not to leave the hotel anymore (4PM) because it is to dangerous on the streets..., the area looked dangerous indeed!
Inside the hotel is pretty well maintained with nice big rooms. However, we had no hot water, and were both sick the day after we had dinner in this place. So, only positive is the room, everything else: not worth to go here!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ingriddutchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Prague
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This hotel is located in one of the most dangerous areas in Nairobi. Actually it is middle of Somalian ghetto. Some taxi drivers even refuse to go there. Also - due to road "construction", the car is dealing with muddy and bumpy road, making it very slow. You'll get soon surrounded by beggars. Make sure the car is locked and never open a window. Once you're behind the fences guarded by security team, you're safe.
The hotel itself isn't bad at all, rooms are ok, breakfast was fine and staff helpful. I used in only for one during my transit. For that purpose - you may consider it. But I wouldn't reccommend it for a longer Nairobi stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr_Ego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had a brilliant stay in this hotel 3 nights in a superior room last month and 2 nights recently both times the service is great,the food delicous,room the superior is 28 sq metres,brilliant breakfast eggs are cooked to order, ok it is situated out of town with a new road being laid but realise you best catch a taxi anywhere at night in Nairobi, George Franklin the charming Maitre D / Supervisor will have you smiling.

Room Tip: The Superior is huge with cupboards,drawers,writing table, fridge,plasma all on participating websit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The hotel is so clean.
The room are big and precious and is a place like home
Friendly and honest employees.
Bed sheet are of the standard of five star hotel.
Near to the CBD.
Affordable prices both for locals and foreigners.
International menu and Somali menu that makes it more interesting

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William123468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I would say the hotel itself is nice, BUT the location is one of the worst in Africa. If you get there in a taxi with presidential tints and you're quickly whisked into your room without roving your eyes on the surrounding then this would be one of the good hotels in Nairobi especially at the price. However, you cant avoid the noise, the stench, the sickening rubbish strewn allover the areas , trenches and impassable roads full of raw sewage water and God knows whatelse. You can stay at this place if you dont mind the sensation of having suicidal Somalis looking at you both in the hotel (most of the clients are hard core Somalis) and outside with the look saying ' what are you doing in our neighbourhood you infidel. I'mma drop a grenade on you'.

In short the environment is not welcoming and there is no sense of security around this place. Save more money and go to a hotel in a better area.

Room Tip: If you REALLY have to stay at this place,get the deluxe rooms, they cost a few extra dollars but are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mtwakazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Central Park Nairobi
Hotel Central Park Nairobi
#109 of 164 in Nairobi
39 reviews
1.0 mi away
Seldom Hotel
Seldom Hotel
#90 of 164 in Nairobi
6 reviews
5.2 mi away
JKIA Airport Hotel
JKIA Airport Hotel
#124 of 164 in Nairobi
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
West Breeze Hotel
West Breeze Hotel
#53 of 164 in Nairobi
69 reviews
1.6 mi away
Emeli Hotel
Emeli Hotel
#65 of 164 in Nairobi
32 reviews
9.1 mi away
67 Airport Hotel
67 Airport Hotel
#40 of 164 in Nairobi
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomad Palace Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomad Palace Hotel Nairobi

Property: Nomad Palace Hotel Nairobi
Address: General Wairungi Street | Pumwani district, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nomad Palace Hotel Nairobi 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Nomad Palace Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing