We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Pretty GOOD Chines” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of China Plate

China Plate
Ranked #374 of 513 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Just up Valley Rd from the Pan Afric hotel - there is also another one in Nairobi, but I have not been to that one.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pretty GOOD Chines”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

I knew this restaurant about 2 years ago, because it was on the way to my apartment. Anyway, the restarurant is located on the first floor of office building. It is quite spacious and quiet atomosphere and very authentic Chinese retaurant. Food is quite tasty and good. Especially, prawns are very good when I went there. It is recommendable for any occasion. Especially with business use.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NAIROBIjapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    17
    13
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Indo chinese restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Well ya Indo Chinese is a term which ws first coined in Calcutta by a Chinese migrant (A lot of chinese live and trade in Calcutta since decades). The rastaurant is usually full and book a place in advance but for me it was an okay experience. I guess a lot of people may like it though.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank karan y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Food Poisoning March 2nd 2013”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Sad to report that my dinner date and i have experienced severe food poisioning after having dinner there last night.My date did notice that the beef did look quite right,there was something 'off' about it.My date was not too lucky as by the time we were leaving he was already experiencing discomfort which turned out to be food poisioning when we got home. I suffered the same today and it was not a pleasant experience at all.Having eaten there before and enjoyed my meals,i must say that this was probably a one-ff experience,but i won't be going back there soon :(
I'd also prefer a hot towel or the hot bowl of water with lemon instead of the wipes they bring to the table.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

I have never been disappointed with this place. The chicken wings are out of this world. Food is great too. Juices are too sweet though.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“bang bang noodles”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

china plate is a memorable hotel on valley road-so close to the city-they serve large enough portions, which is what i liked about them plus the food is totally worth it. i had bang bang noodles. just because i thought the name was fun and sachewan chicken or something like that . i recommend it for a date

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank grapeNairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Plate also viewed

 

Been to China Plate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing