We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good place for lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Utamaduni Craft Centre

Utamaduni Craft Centre
Ranked #5 of 34 Shopping in Nairobi
Attraction details
Croydon, Surrey
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A very good place for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Only went there for lunch as recommended by our favourite safari company - WILDLIFE SAFARI of Nairobi.
As the place was full, the four of us had lunch under a lovely sheltered arbour. It was teeming with rain, which made it all the more fun. Very well looked after by rain soaked waiters who continued to smile even though they were drenched bringing us our meals. The food and wine was extremely good and we were not rushed in any way. Thoroughly enjoyable time was had by all. Would recommend it and next time we're in Nairobi, we will have a good look at the shop.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank lainey6477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    21
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great place for local gifts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My wife and I visited here one afternoon and loved it, alot of gifts to chose from and about 20 different little shops in one place, proces also were some of the best we found. the cafe on site also does a very nice lunch allowng you to recover from the shopping, well worth a visit....

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Dom1874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
138 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A Must if you are in Karen during the day - one stop for all the souvenirs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This is a great spot for one stop shopping - its a house that has been transformed into room after room of different crafts, sculptures, cloth, beaded products, tea, coffee, high end sculpture...you name it.

I was able to find some really great souvenirs - there's one room just for kids, which is very reasonably priced with books, stuffed animals, and really cute clothes.

I ended up coming back twice as the prices were really fair and the selection was spot on.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank DC-IMF-FAOtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Handicrafts from all over Africa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

A bit of a hike to visit if you are staying in the city. Make a day of visiting Karen and include this with the Giraffe Sanctuary and Elephant Sanctuary. Its a great place to while away a bit of time if you are waiting for the inevitable late night flight out of Nairobi. We have been 3 times to Utamaduni. You need time to browse each room as it is a virtual treasure trove of artifacts from around Africa. If you are travelling as a couple and your partner does not like shopping, time your visit around lunch as there is an outdoor garden restaurant which does reasonably priced meals and serves drinks and snacks all day.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank yolc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Emlyn
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

About an hour from Westlands. Not well sign posted if you are driving. We had grilled chicken and chips plus steamed veg.We did wait a while, deffinately worth it. 2700 plus cokes for 2 of us.
The are is lush green and cool. The shops are great you can spend a good few hours looking, my husband slept in the car after our lunch. There is every price range from ridiculous. To 250. All really lovely and well organised. Go and see.

Helpful?
3 Thank raine10_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Utamaduni Craft Centre also viewed

 

Been to Utamaduni Craft Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing