We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“My stay at The 140” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The 140

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The 140
Save
You added The 140 to your Saves list
Ranked #62 of 220 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My stay at The 140”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

I enjoyed my stay at The 140. It is a serene homely environment. Charles and Ruth are nice people - they are really caring people. I go to UNEP Gigiri often on business and my intention is to stay at The 140 as long as there are rooms available. It is not far from UNEP Gigiri - the centre of my activities when I am in Kenya.

I have recommended it to colleagues at the Technical Univerisity of Denmark who also go to UNEP on business.

I thank the taxi man - Titus - who introduced me to the The 140.

Room Tip: I Higher floors have less A/C unit noise with reasonable internet connections.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The140, Owner at The 140, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
We very much appreciate our guest's response and for creating the time to provide valuable feedback. And we really do look forward to hosting him and his colleagues in future. We strive to provide a homely atmosphere and it very satisfying to receive constructive feedback from departing guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
1
1
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brasília, Distrito Federal, Brazil
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

I strongly recommend staying at The 140. The place is very nice. The employes are very trustworthy and they are always prepared to serve you. It is a calm and confortable place. The food is also excellent. The directors are kind people.

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms are excellent places to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Otavio Luiz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The140, Owner at The 140, responded to this review, November 13, 2011
Thank you very much for your review comments. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and truly felt a member of the family whilst staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

We very much enjoyed our time at the 140. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They always went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and welcomed. This was truly our home away from home. The meals were very tasty and prepared with much thought and effort. There was always more than enough to eat. Kudoos to the chef who takes great pride in his work. The rooms were spacious and cosy. The reliable internet was really appreciated. The 140 is located in the beautiful Runda neighbourhood. Security is available 24/7. The property is very lush with gardens and greenary. Breakfast in the garden or dinner on the roof top patio only enhanced the ambiance. Our team of six was doing some volunteer work for 9 days at the Eastleigh Community Centre located in the Eastleigh ghetto, so the 140 provided a wonderful respite from our daily activities. You can't go wrong staying at the 140 during your time in Nairobi.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The140, Owner at The 140, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
We very much appreciate these review comments. We strive to provide the best of comfort for our guests and are gratified that your team had a wonderful time. And we thank you very much for choosing to stay at our facility.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
The Bedelle
#33 of 156 in Nairobi
5.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
Hotel Riverview Westlands
#65 of 220 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 32 reviews
Smothers Garden
#24 of 220 in Nairobi
5.0 of 5 stars 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dolfran Guest House
#31 of 220 in Nairobi
5.0 of 5 stars 3 reviews
Highridge
Dreamplace Bed and Breakfast
Highridge
FortyWinks Home
FortyWinks Home
#58 of 183 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 140? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 140

Property: The 140
Address: Runda, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 220 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The property is a 5-bedroom house with a large garden. This facility is available for use only by residents and expected guests, ensuring your privacy when you stay with us. Each of the bedrooms is self-contained, with shower, bathtub and free WiFi internet. It is ideal for travellers who prefer home comforts instead of staying in a hotel. Our rates start at US$80 for the standard room. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing