We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Spectacle on Fridays and During Ramadhan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jamia Mosque

Jamia Mosque
Nairobi
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Spectacle on Fridays and During Ramadhan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This serves as the center for all the Nairobi Muslims since it is in the Central Business District. Therefore, convenient for all those working in the city. It is next to the Macmillan Library, Tropez and Nation Center (a leading national media house). Its inspiring to see all the muslims go for prayers especially on Fridays and during the Holy month of Ramadhan. The best thing is to avoid driving along the street there on those days from noon,and especially on Ramadhan when they have the road closed on Fridays.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank VirginiaNairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    4
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“its location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

i like it because its situated at down town near the library making the place to be a cool place for the learners in the library during weekdays and saturday

Helpful?
2 Thank SANDTON12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Curiosity”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Wanted to see inside. Needless to say as an average Nairobi woman,non muslim, I didn't get far. But what I did see was nothing spectacular so I don't think I missed much

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Wavinya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Jamia mosque”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Very interested in visiting a mosque, it is biggest in the central Nairobi,even if you need to pay some tips to learn, but it was worth , you know how many times each day to pray, what time to pray, how cleaning when you want to pray ,many times to clean with sequence。

If not for somebody, Probably I will never learn these things. Thanks for that.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The mosque”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Jamia mosque is located in the heart of Nairobi city with its bustling traffic and people on the streets. It is a clean place though once in a while you get the occasional beggars outside the mosque that make one uncomfotable.

Helpful?
Thank jane n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jamia Mosque also viewed

 

Been to Jamia Mosque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing