We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“One night was enough” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Jupiter Guest Resort Langata

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jupiter Guest Resort Langata
Save
You added Jupiter Guest Resort Langata to your Saves list
Ranked #81 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One night was enough”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We had flown in from Kigali and were expecting same standards as Kigali's Golf Hills residence but we were disappointed. I was with my wife and 10 year old son. On arrival being tired we went to a crammed room with 2 beds, we asked for room service which arrived cold and unpleasant.
The showers were the dangerous electrical shower heads, that were working not working at all, the water was cold and it also reached a point when the water stopped altogether.
We went for breakfast at around 9 and found little variety to choose from.
This hotel is good for back packers and young travellers but not good for a family.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenkiawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter00, Manager at Jupiter Guest Resort Langata, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Kenkiawa,

I must start with sincerely apologizing for the unexpected standards you found in Jupiter Resort Langata.

Clearly the standards of the two hotels differ with us being a superior budget hotel and that may have been a disappointment for the higher standard you expected.

Sorry that food served to you was cold, you had the right to return the room service and also raise the matter with a duty manager for the same to be addressed.

As for the showers, they are not a danger as they are wired expertly and in the requirement of the manufacturer and our government. These are what you find in every superior budget establishments.

In event the shower is not working for one reason or another our front desk is always manned 24hrs to attend to any issues.

We regret that your stay was not as expected though we have hosted many families who were contented with the room facilities

Once again it is regrettable that your stay was below expectation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    16
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
9
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

I stayed in Jupiter Guest Resort for 2 nights earlier this month (Jan '14) and the front desk staff were nice, the food was good, and the bill is pocket friendly :). The only glitch in my stay was presence of lots of mosquitoes, in spite of mosquito nets provided round the bed.

The environment is clean, Wifi is fast, and the basics are there (running water, TV, towel, etc). As with most other hotels I've stayed in (both budget and luxury hotels), there's no music channel on the TV cable service :(.

I'd recommend it for short-stay travellers.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Dare7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter00, Manager at Jupiter Guest Resort Langata, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Dare7,

We thank you for taking time to post a review of your stay with us.

It is regrettable that during your stay there were a lot of mosquitoes. We have resulted to taking extra measures and Re spraying the rooms despite having the all round Mosquito net.

Had this been raised immediately at the front desk which is manned 24hrs, they would have brought up an electric mosquito repellent.

We once again thank you for staying with us and look forward to hosting you again in Jupiter Guest Resort Langata.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Jupiter Guest Resort in Langata in May 2012 and again in May 2013. We enjoyed our stay both times. The room was very clean and comfortable, with a desk for our internet use. The free Wi-Fi was a plus, and it worked well. Gertrude the manager was extremely helpful, even arranging to send our delayed baggage on to our next destination in Nairobi by hotel taxi. We also recommended this hotel to another visitor to Kenya who reported a good experience. Jupiter Guest Resort is the best value for a Nairobi hotel we have found. We change from our previous Nairobi hotel for several years because it became too expensive for our budget. We enjoyed Jupiter, which had a clientele of Kenyan and International guests. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter00, Manager at Jupiter Guest Resort Langata, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Kenneth,

We are very grateful that you have continued enjoying staying with us.

Thank you for taking time to share your experience here and as you say our Rates are Truly Price Friendly.

Once again thank for your Support by staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I have stayed in this Guest house twice. The first time we paid a relatively normal price for Nairobi though of course it is just a basic Guest house compared to its price value.This year, when we stayed there, the prices were way much higher! We got a double deluxe room for three nights of which we were required to pay upon arrival, otherwise no rooms, no keys! Hotel policy. The staff were relatively helpful, though in my opinion it was because my friend was a bit demanding. Either way they did not advise us well. Upon paying upfront for the three nights, they offered us no advise regarding cancellation policies etc (Okay well, we assumed they were not aware or just did not bother to share such vital infos in case of such eventualities). In the end, we had to cancel our stay at the Guest house. Of course, they offered us no refund (Hotel policy again). In the end, we paid for an extra day which we did not use. Alternatively we were given an alternate of "transferring" the extra day to another visit within 4 weeks!! Super, we were both leaving the country so in the end, our money just went out of the window!....
The room was clean but we did not understand why the toilets had no toilet brush?? VERY ANNOYING.
Howrever, the breakfast was okay and the WiFi connection was great. The dining area is well lit and lovely. The pub at the corner side was also Ok. I think the location is good! Very near Langata rd and accessible to Giraffe centre, KWS Safari walk, Carnivore; a shopping center across the road and the local pubs: Rafikiz and Off road. I dont know if that qualifies it to be so damn pricey??

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyB700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter00, Manager at Jupiter Guest Resort Langata, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear JennyB700

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Jupiter Guest Resort- Langata.

We very Much appreciate your choice to stay with us.

We appreciate the mistakes pointed to us as they help us correct and improve to serve our clients better.

The Deluxe Double room is priced at USD 56 and sincerely beg to differ that the room is highly priced as this also includes breakfast for 2.

We apologize that the staff on duty did not give the briefing upon checking in as required as i believe had she indicated the cancellation policy you would have made a choice of paying daily for the accommodation. Once again i apologize. We have taken note of this incidence and addressed it appropriately.

The hotel does not also offer day rates as we have one standard rate regardless of the duration stayed. Sorry that this was also not addressed properly.

We have introduced toilet brushes in the rooms as suggested.

Once again than you for choosing to stay with us.

We sincerely hope you accept our apology.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

It felt like going home each time we went back there - a total of eight nights. All of the staff were helpful and friendly - security, front desk and restaurant. The rooms are fairly basic, but better than we were offered in other places. The shower worked and the beds comfortable, with the wifi usually operational.

We really enjoyed the breakfasts - good eggs, bacon and sausages, toast and jam plus inessentials such as fruit. The evening meals were basic but good for us - meat of your choice plus spinach and your favourite starch - other things were on the menu, but not always in the kitchen. There is an outdoor bar, but I'm not sure how that qualifies the place as a resort.

We liked the location with a short walk to a local supermarket which has a craft market on Friday to Sunday in the car park. We felt completely safe safe walking the streets in daylight but didn't try at night. You can also walk to the Carnivore Restaurant or Wilson Airport. There are the very frequent Matatus on Langata Road taking you to other shopping areas, the city centre and the elephant orphanage [125/126].

This is a budget hotel in a nice suburban location and should be treated as such. We were able to stay there and eat there [breakfast and dinner] for US$80/day for two people. You can't say that for many places in Nairobi.

I will recommend it to my daughter who is planning a trip next year and any friends who are going there.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Executive Double - worth the extra over the standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikecc46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Worst hotel experience ever. Upon arrival we walked up to our third floor room and unpacked ...only to find that the shower did not work even after the repairman spent 30 minutes working on it. Back downstairs to ask for another room. We were given another room on the third floor where the lock was broken and the room could easily be enter. (That shower had water but ran either very hot or very cold.) Back down to the desk. We asked about an upgrade because the room was so small, no table or chairs, and where told it could cost 6000 shillings to upgrade.
Our third room was on the second floor where we spent the night in the company of two cockroaches. The sheets didn't cover the mattress so in the morning we were lying on a bare soiled mattress. There are no screen on the windows and no fan for ventilation with the windows closed..
Such problems may be common in cheap hotels but what made the Jupiter stand out was the
attitude of the staff (except for the bellboy/repair man). The woman at reception and the manager himself were surly, rude, and dishonest. (They said they had no twin bedded rooms.)
Finally the food was terrible. Dinner inedible; breakfast very poor; lunch adequate but not good.
I urge you to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prado1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter00, Manager at Jupiter Guest Resort Langata, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Prado 1122,

Thank you for staying with us on the 15th September.

We are highly regret that you felt you stay with us was terrible.

As the management of this hotel we beg to differ with the raised views as follows:

1. Rooms were small - It is regrettable that you felt the room’s size was small but your tour operator chose, booked and paid for Deluxe Single rooms for your entire group of eight people. And rooms were allocated accordingly. Deluxe rooms have Queen sized beds. We could only change the rooms to a double if the difference was paid by either you or your operator and neither was willing to pay the top up.

-After check in two ladies of your group requested to be given a double room as they could not to share one Queen Size bed. We agreed and upgraded them to a double room.

2. Electrical showers can develop problems without warning and event of that happening we have a maintenance colleague on standby. Shower heads if not regulated properly can give too hot or too cold water. If the problem is not solvable we change the rooms as you have stated. We have a 24hr front office desk and such complaints can be raised to them through telephone extensions in the room and they will arrange to have them solved.

3. It is our hotel policy to emphasis on cleanliness. Fumigation is done every month and we have never had an incidence with pests. However this matter was taken seriously and all rooms were thoroughly checked.

4. We could not upgrade another extra room since 2 people of your travel group members had been upgraded however we did try and change the rooms.

On 16th September you notified the duty manager that you would not check out at 10.00am since you had paid for a day room rate to check out in the evening 1800hrs. However he told you that your tour operator had not paid any day fee for any of the 4 rooms the group had occupied and he requested you to liaise with the tour firm. Eventually we allowed a late check out of 12.00 noon. Dishonesty was not in question as this was a hotel policy and they could not allow a check out of 1800hrs which was not paid for.

5. We highly sorry that you felt food was terrible. We have a duty manager 24/7 and addressing those issues would have helped us in serving your group better.

We are sorry about your disappointments and sincerely state that we have addressed the issues raised.

The Management
Jupiter Guest Resort- Langata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed in a nice hotel near the Kenyatta Airport for 2 days, but Jupiter Guest Resort set a higher standard for just 500 KS more (5000 KS for 2 of us a night). It has big rooms, a 2’ x 4’ table to work on with my laptop, two mirrors and decent storage. The security is good! The bed and pillow are real good and the bug net excellent. They clean and change sheets and towels, etc. daily. The bathroom plumbing works well (I am comparing it to Uganda where we are staying for six months) (need to BARELY put on shower water to get it hot-if you turn it more, cold water is added.) The shower drains well and they have towel mats on the floor to help. They have thought of everything! We stayed 11 days. The included breakfast buffet is fast and especially good on Sundays. The location is a block off Longata Rd and very near the Carnavore Restaurant (Very expensive) Wilson Airport (busy with small planes that mostly take people on Safarri), Kibera slum (can see from hotel but NEVER go without local help as it is VERY dangerous), a big supermarket, and 30 minutes from town in non-rush hour traffic. There is a good pizza restaurant and a good chicken restaurant nearby on Longata Rd. The Matatu's (16 pax van taxi’s if you are a bit adventurous – when the guy taps you on the shoulder or looks at you, it is time to pay) are cheap (about $.50 US to downtown) and stop on Longata, you will need to ask someone where. Beware that different routes go different places so ask the staff before you go on a Matatu. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the food good (but takes a very long time, i.e 30 to 75 minutes). The Food Court at Galleria (about 3 miles farther away from downtown is excellent and service takes less than 15 minutes for all kinds of good food and ice cream). It only costs $.35 to get up to Galleria by Matatu (they call it gaLARia). I would definitely seek out this hotel if I come to Nairobi again. TIP: Always carry a little flashlight in case you get back in the dark. We walked between the hotel and Langata several times with no trouble but without light it is difficult. We were to leave on Aug 7 but due to the big fire at the airport stayed another day and took a bus back to Kampala. Gertrude the manager was EXREMELY helpful in setting up good seats for the bus!

Room Tip: Probably the side of the building away from Downtown Nairobi would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuBu315007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter00, Manager at Jupiter Guest Resort Langata, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Prado1122

We take this opportunity to apologize on behalf of Jupiter Guest Resort for your Uncomfortable stay with us.

We sincerely apologize for the state of the room as posted.

Due to the complaint of cockroaches in the room we have resorted to fumigate the premises on a weekly basis instead of doing it on a fortnight basis.

Jupiter Resort has never had such an incidence as we pride ourselves in the high standard of cleanliness in the premises.

We have resolved to ensure that the correct size of bedsheets are spread on the correct bed.
Once again we are sorry for the inconvenience experienced during your stay with us. However the bed comforters do not cover the entire mattress.

We are optimistic that such an incidence will never happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Upperhill Blueberry Hotel
#113 of 156 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 4 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
West Breeze Hotel
West Breeze Hotel
#39 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
Nairobi Upper Hill Hotel
#114 of 156 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Ndemi Place
#44 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Saab Royale Hotel
#35 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 28 reviews
Nairobi Transit Hotel
#43 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jupiter Guest Resort Langata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jupiter Guest Resort Langata

Property: Jupiter Guest Resort Langata
Address: Jonathan Ngeno Rd | Langata., Nairobi 00600, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a serene area. Maintains high standards of cleanliness. Near Carnivore Restaurant, Nairobi National Park, Giraffe center, David Sheldrick- Elephant Orphanage among other attractions.Have professional,warm and friendly staff. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing