We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor
Wines of the World Wine Shop and Bar – The Wine Experts
Ranked #289 of 511 Restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Contemporary, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: TASTE PRESTIGE AWARD 2011 - best newcomer of the year. A unique wine bar concept compromising of a wine shop, a tasting room as well as a wine bar and lounge offering over 300 references. Wines from around the world starting from just KSH 800 ($10), over 30 malt whiskies and many other international spirits. Bitings and delicatessen to accompany your drinks and over 80 wines and champagnes by the glass starting from just KSH 350 ($4). Wizards, the tasting room accommodations comfortably up to 16 people for private events or conference.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely wine bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

The wine list here is staggering. Although the location is wanting, the place is cozy and inviting. I always enjoy the wine tastings offered here.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AfroNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WWWShopandBar, Owner at Wines of the World Wine Shop and Bar – The Wine Experts, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Afronomad,
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor and we are delighted to see that you enjoy our set up as well as our regular wine tastings! looking forward to welcome you soon again.
Best regards
Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    27
    12
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Desserts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Dark chocolate and excellent Malbec. Best place in Nairobi for dessert.

The Shiraz wine sampling is one of my favorites as well.

There is also a store with a very wide selection of wine and liquor, many of which are not available at other stores in Kenya.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippecauviere, Owner at Wines of the World Wine Shop and Bar – The Wine Experts, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Kendo541, Malbec and Chocolates - I can only agree with you, what a combination! Try also the shiraz with some chocolate mousse, you will not regret this and if like me you like a good cigar, indulge yourself with a good Hoyo de Monterey in our smoking room!. Nice to hear that you enjoyed WWW Shop and Bar and if you are a wine lover, do not miss out on our wine and food pairing evening! Thank you once again for your visit and review. best regards Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
342 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Good selection of wines, nice place for a decent drink”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

The wine bar is located in the Junction Mall, has a good selection of international wines, by the glass, bottle, take away/whole sale. The burgers looked great through we did not eat there. Recommended, though pricy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barnskybeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippecauviere, Owner at Wines of the World Wine Shop and Bar – The Wine Experts, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Barnskybeat, Thanks for visiting WWW Shop and Bar to hear you had a good time. Sorry that you missed our burgers, hopefully you will have more time on your next visit. I have also noted your comment on the prices, we have an extended list of wines by the glass (80 in total) ranging from Ksh 390 a glass up to over Ksh 1500 a glass for the famous Amaronne wine from Italy! We regularly check our prices against our competitors and for the same products we are on par or even lower, though depending on your choice of wine or upper end whisky, your bill can become a bit heavy! For your next visit to Nairobi, please do remember our burgers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An amazing July”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

The ambience is A+, The knowledgeability of the staff was even better.
The management was FUNTASTIC... Lots of laughter and fun. The food was fabulous and the portions were so unexpected (In a good way)

LOVED it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Njeri N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippecauviere, Owner at Wines of the World Wine Shop and Bar – The Wine Experts, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Njeri, Thank you for visiting WWW and for posting a review on your experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and please do not forget about our daily happy hours! looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Overpriced with bad food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stopped at the restaurant for a meal. I chose a burger. Burger was dry, chips were very dry. Service was poor... 2 or 3 waiters on duty were sitting at the bar with possibly a friend. I had to wait until the only person working (a waitress) appeared to get served, get the bill, get change etc. The place looks impressive but I will not go again. Overpriced for what it is! And with poor food makes it an insult.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 177MikeS177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippecauviere, Owner at Wines of the World Wine Shop and Bar – The Wine Experts, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Mike,
First of all, thank you for visiting WWW Shop and Bar and for posting comments on your experience. I have reviewed your posting and what you have described is indeed a very disappointing experience. I am surprised to hear that our burger was dry as these are freshly made and hand cut using our 28days aged beef from Morendat farm. Please accept our sincerest apologies for this and I will contact you personally to make it up to you as this is certainly not what WWW Shop and bar is known for. Please do contact me personally when you are back in Kenya. Looking forward to meeting you. Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wines of the World Wine Shop and Bar – The Wine Experts also viewed

 

Been to Wines of the World Wine Shop and Bar – The Wine Experts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing