We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
WWW Shop and Bar Ltd - The Wine Expert in East Africa
Ranked #259 of 474 Restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Contemporary, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: TASTE PRESTIGE AWARD 2011 - BEST NEW COMER OF THE YEARA UNIQUE WINE BAR CONCEPT COMPROMISING OF A WINE SHOP, A TASTING ROOM AS WELL AS A WINE BAR AND LOUNGE OFFERING OVER 300 REFERENCES WINES FROM AROUND THE WORLD STARTING FROM JUST KSH 800 ($10), OVER 30 MALT WHISKIES AND MANY OTHER INTERNATIONAL SPIRITS.BITINGS AND DELICATESSEN TO COMPLEMENT YOUR DRINKS AND OVER 80 WINES AND CHAMPAGNES BY THE GLASS STARTING FROM JUST KSH 350 ($4). WIZARDS, THE TASTING ROOM ACCOMMODATES COMFORTABLY UP TO 16 PEOPLE FOR PRIVATE EVENTS OR CONFERENCE
DUBAI
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Used to be good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

It used to be good even if the venue is in a mall, but since the owner is not showing up everything goes sideways...the wine menu is not updated the cheeses are facing chain of cold problem. Won t go back

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FRENCHBIZTRAVELER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippecauviere, Owner at WWW Shop and Bar Ltd - The Wine Expert in East Africa, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Frenchbizztraveler,

Thanks for visiting again WWW Shop and Bar while you were in Nairobi.

I have noted your concern concerning the wine list and the cheese.

Concerning the wine list, the main wine list has been updated last week and we care currently working on our wine by the glass selection as we had a lot of changes recently. I understand that this is not ideal especially when you are ordering a wine and it is not available, though having such a large selection means that at times we are not fully up to date.

Concerning cheeses and cold cuts, I can only agree with you that our current selection is not our normal standard, this is due to delays in importation from our main supplier. I have spoken to him this morning and have been assured that all should be back to normal next week.

I thank you once again for your support and your constructive comments and looks forward to well come you back on your next trip.

Best regards

Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    27
    12
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Level Contributor
96 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Difficult - Food poisoning during my last visit.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I generally enjoy the Wine Bar for wine, whiskey, champagne food and drink pairings. I have really enjoyed the whiskey tastings in the past. Unfortunately, I was horribly ill after the recent champagne food and drink pairing.

I relayed the same feedback to the restaurant, with no response.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippecauviere, Owner at WWW Shop and Bar Ltd - The Wine Expert in East Africa, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Lisa,

First of all, I would like to thank you for attending our Champagne tasting on 8th February though I was sad and concerned to hear that you were unwell following this event.

Following our conversation, I have received your email regarding this issue for the first time on 27th February. It seems that we had an issue with our main email address.

As mentioned, we had 16 people during that event. Food for these event is freshly prepared and cooked as a single batch, therefore if there was any issues, it would have affected most or all attendees. The food is also served at one go therefore once again reducing risks.

Following your comments, Miriam, Outlet Manager, and myself have contacted most of the attendees , and so far none have reported any discomfort following our tasting on 8th February.

At WWW shop and Bar, we pay great attention to our process as well as storage and selection of product and in over 20 months of operation never had any complains of food poisoning.

As you also probably know, we all tend to focus on the last meal when such issues arise, though one need to remember that the cause of such discomfort can be traced up to 72 hours before the last meal. It is also of the utmost importance that such incident are immediately reported to the restaurant or food outlet so that we can take immediate action to check and review any food which might have been involved. In your case, the tasting being on 8th February and the information only reaching us on the 27th makes it extremely difficult to do any further investigation or eventually any food tests.

I have sent you a personal note to your email address regarding this incident.

I thank you once again for contacting us regarding this issue, though in this case, I highly doubt that the food served on the champagne tasting on 8th February could have been the cause of your discomfort.

Looking forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards

Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wine and Dine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I am not big on wine so I cannot say much about that, but I went with wine experts and they were impressed with the selection and variety. What I can add is that the steaks are good and they have some good cocktails for those who, like me, are not into wines.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NicoleBanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippecauviere, Manager at WWW Shop and Bar Ltd - The Wine Expert in East Africa, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Nicole, thank you so much for your review and see you soon again.! Miriam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snekkersten
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This is my favorite hangout in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

All staff from kitchen to Management do an excellent job to make you feel comfortable and Phillipe (owner) is present and aware of your every need ;-)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 266Bluesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best thing to ever happen to the Junction mall.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Very relaxing place with a wide variety of wine and believe it or not very nice coffee too. i fell in love with their cheese variety...so after a crazy shopping spree you can just pop in at the wine bar and relax!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank paula k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed WWW Shop and Bar Ltd - The Wine Expert in East Africa also viewed

 

Been to WWW Shop and Bar Ltd - The Wine Expert in East Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing