We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“An excellent wine bar with a Knowledgeable Owner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wines of the World Wine Shop and Bar – The Wine Experts

Wines of the World Wine Shop and Bar – The Wine Experts
Ranked #318 of 522 Restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Contemporary, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: TASTE PRESTIGE AWARD 2011 - best newcomer of the year. A unique wine bar concept compromising of a wine shop, a tasting room as well as a wine bar and lounge offering over 300 references. Wines from around the world starting from just KSH 800 ($10), over 30 malt whiskies and many other international spirits. Bitings and delicatessen to accompany your drinks and over 80 wines and champagnes by the glass starting from just KSH 350 ($4). Wizards, the tasting room accommodations comfortably up to 16 people for private events or conference.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“An excellent wine bar with a Knowledgeable Owner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Loved their selection of wines from all over the word and the option to order by the glass or bottle.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gopal-Venkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    27
    12
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“good wines”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

It is a very interesting place in a busy shopping centre. The selection of wines and little bites here and there is unique in Nairobi. The service is competent and somehow interested in what they are doing. The selction of wines is vast and for every taste a good choice. Unfortunately, they keep wines in the wine list also if not available. However, you get value for money and it is a good place to relax after a busy and expensive shopping day.

Helpful?
1 Thank peter w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippecauviere, Owner at Wines of the World Wine Shop and Bar – The Wine Experts, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Peter,

Many thanks for visiting WWW Shop and Bar at The Junction Mall and for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate your comments both on our wine list and the food. We are delighted that you enjoyed the wine bar.

I have also noted your comment on some of the wines being not available. As you have seen we have around 450 references of wines, plus around 60 whiskies - mainly malts as well as a large selection of alcohols, liquors and accessories. It is true that with such selection we can run out of some references, normally these are coming back in a few days.

So please accept my sincerest apologies if the wines you were looking for were not available in this occasion. Please let me know which particular reference you were looking for so that I can double check if it has already come back.

Thank you once again for your constructive comments and looking forward to seeing you again at WWW Shop and Bar.

Best regards

Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great wine and wonderful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Having visited Nairobi a number of times I find WWW one of the best places to visit. The staff are freindly and knowledgable and the service is excellent. The selection of wine far outdoes any other place nearby and i was especially impressed with their South African selection. The Franshhoek Cellars Sauvignon Blanc is crispy and lush and goes perfectly with their cold cut platter whist I sunk a beautiful Shiraz from Boschendal that complimented my aged steak perfectly. A fantastic experience all round - I recommend it to anyone who visits this womderful city!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aiden1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippecauviere, Owner at Wines of the World Wine Shop and Bar – The Wine Experts, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Aiden,

Many thanks for visiting WWW and for your review on tripadvisor. My team is delighted that you have enjoyed the food, their service and our wine selection.
We indeed carry a good selection of SA wines and many from the Boschendal and Franschhoek Cellar. These are certainly great value for money and for those who also look for the more exclusive SA wines, we have The Bernard Series and Cecil John range. These are really specials.

Looking forward to welcoming you again at WWW on your next trip to Kenya.

Thank you and all the best!

Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Great tofu burger, nice wine! It is good to have live music, good people around, a nice place to relax. The pasta was also good.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ximena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippecauviere, Owner at Wines of the World Wine Shop and Bar – The Wine Experts, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Ximena,

Thank you for coming for our live Jazz night on Thursday and thank you also for posting a review on TripAdvisor!

I am delighted to see that you have enjoyed the music and the food! We look forward to welcome you again.

Best regards

Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“For Whisky/wine Masters”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

The mood and decor. Very great. If you grab a seat at the bar....you are home and dry! Just dripping with wine or whisky. The whisky is affordable and i bet you, you will not find their range anywhere else in Nairobi...at that good price.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Atisogot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippecauviere, Owner at Wines of the World Wine Shop and Bar – The Wine Experts, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Atisogot,

First of all, many thanks for visiting WWW Shop and Bar and for posting your comments on TripAdvisor.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the atmosphere, decor as well as our pricing. We are primarily a wine bar offering over 80 wines by the glass and have also grown into malt whisky and now stocking over 30 at the shop and have over 15 at the bar.

If whisky is your drink, we are receiving new references in the next few days! So pop in!

Thank you once again for your review and if you pop in in the next few days,

Looking forward to welcoming you soon!

Best regards

Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wines of the World Wine Shop and Bar – The Wine Experts also viewed

 

Been to Wines of the World Wine Shop and Bar – The Wine Experts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing