We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For Whisky/wine Masters”

Wines of the World Wine Shop and Bar – The Wine Experts
Ranked #368 of 573 Restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: TASTE PRESTIGE AWARD 2011 - best newcomer of the year. A unique wine bar concept compromising of a wine shop, a tasting room as well as a wine bar and lounge offering over 300 references. Wines from around the world starting from just KSH 800 ($10), over 30 malt whiskies and many other international spirits. Bitings and delicatessen to accompany your drinks and over 80 wines and champagnes by the glass starting from just KSH 350 ($4). Wizards, the tasting room accommodations comfortably up to 16 people for private events or conference.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The mood and decor. Very great. If you grab a seat at the bar....you are home and dry! Just dripping with wine or whisky. The whisky is affordable and i bet you, you will not find their range anywhere else in Nairobi...at that good price.

1  Thank Atisogot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippecauviere, Owner at Wines of the World Wine Shop and Bar – The Wine Experts, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear Atisogot,

First of all, many thanks for visiting WWW Shop and Bar and for posting your comments on TripAdvisor.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the atmosphere, decor as well as our pricing. We are primarily a wine bar offering over 80 wines by the glass and have also grown into malt whisky and now stocking over 30 at the shop and have over 15 at the bar.

If whisky is your drink, we are receiving new references in the next few days! So pop in!

Thank you once again for your review and if you pop in in the next few days,

Looking forward to welcoming you soon!

Best regards

Philippe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
There are newer reviews for Wines of the World Wine Shop and Bar – The Wine Experts
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 55 of 98 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stopped in for some post-work wine, cheese and charcuterie, and were blown away by the broad selection of wines. The service was attentive but not overbearing, and the atmosphere was relaxing, despite being inside one of the larger malls. This a fantastic place to unwind and enjoy a quiet drink with friends. Additionally, the staff was very helpful with suggestions on wine choices, which helped narrow down the exhaustive list of options.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippecauviere, Owner at Wines of the World Wine Shop and Bar – The Wine Experts, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Emily,

We thank you for visiting WWW Shop and Bar and for posting your review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that we were able to recommend some wines for you.

Please do not also forget that we operate also as a shop and take away prices are different both for wines and for our Deli counter.

Should you like jazz, we have Jazz night on Thursday and this is really a fantastic way to chill out after work and before the week end!

We thank you once again and look forward welcoming you again at WWW Shop and Bar!

Best regards

Philippe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Every time my wife and I go into Nairobi we have to visit our friends at WWW. A wonderful selection of wines, a great deli counter, a carefully selected range of cigars and all served by well trained and intelligent staff.

Thank Bushpig1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippecauviere, Owner at Wines of the World Wine Shop and Bar – The Wine Experts, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

First of all, I would like to thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor and for your patronage.

We are delighted that you are enjoying our wine selection as well as our deli offer, please also remember that we can prepare special dishes on order such as Lasagna, Ravioli, Fresh Tagliatelli as well as various pates!

Thank you once again for this great review and I will ensure your compliments are passed on to our great staff!

Best regards

Philippe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We were finishing our volunteering placement and stopped by The Junction for a night before our 4-day safari. We needed to exchange some shillings and the fellows sharing the hostel highly recommended this place for steak. We were pleasantly surprised when we saw the discount on aged minute steak, as we had been told to be ready to pay a premium for the dinner. The medium rare steaks were tender and flavorful. A nitpick would be one of my three slices was verging on well done on the left and rare on the right. I didn't mind it as it showed the steak can be very tasty all the way across different cooked levels. On the other hand, a little more consistency would be great if you want to go there regularly. The sides supplement the main well and service was excellent. We didn't try the wines but if I would go to Kenya again I definitely will order some to wash down the wonderful steaks. Fresh passion fruit juice is very sour even with a shot of syrup added, but it really excites your appetite like nothing else.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Stupig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippecauviere, Owner at Wines of the World Wine Shop and Bar – The Wine Experts, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Good Evening,

First of all, I would like to thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor and sharing your experience at WWW Shop and Bar.

I was happy to see that you enjoyed your experience with us and have noted your comments on the doneness of the meat. I have reviewed this with our chef and the person who butcher our meat as it seems in this occasion the cut was not done correctly, therefore affecting the doneness.

Concerning our juices, these are absolutely freshly squeezed and not diluted nor have added sugar. Depending on the season and the type of fruits we get, the natural fresh passion fruit can indeed be quite sour!

Thank you once again for visiting WWW Shop and Bar at the Junction Mall and sharing your experience.

I look forward welcoming you again at WWW on your next trip to Kenya!

Best regards

Philippe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We enjoy coming here to have a drink and work. Staff is friendly and the internet is fast. They offer a good beverage selection, especially if you like wine. The food is also good. It is not as crowded is the neighboring restaurants. It's a little pricey but the environment is exceptional.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Micahdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippecauviere, Owner at Wines of the World Wine Shop and Bar – The Wine Experts, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Good evening,

Just a short note to thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to see that you are enjoying our wine selection, service and food offering.

Concerning pricing, we are striving to offer value for money with every one of our items, though on wines and alcohol, the taxes structure in Kenya are not on our side!

Thank you once again for your patronage.

Best regards

Philippe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wines of the World Wine Shop and Bar – The Wine Experts also viewed

 

Been to Wines of the World Wine Shop and Bar – The Wine Experts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing