We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great kenyan coffee” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Java House Downtown

Nairobi Java House Downtown
mama ngina street, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 (20) 313564
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 463 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, African, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“great kenyan coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

this place serves a great coffee and you can relax and have a good lunch there. It is a small chain but expect it to grow quickly as it seems to be the Kenyan equivalent to Starbucks

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank GLOB3TR0TT3R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    56
    22
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mandeville, Jamaica
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great kenyian coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

There are many around Nairobi, they serve kenyan coffee and you can also buy the coffee in bags if you have want it. I found the coffee and the service at the java house to be better then most other places around. We had lunch at one and the food was good.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank CDDahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Black Gold”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Want to drink the best coffee in the world, then this is where to go. The aroma of the coffee hits you as you enter the coffee house and that is just half the story because as you take your first sip of your coffee you know that you've found gold. This by the way is me describing just how i enjoyed my day out with friends and finished it with the best coffee i ever drank. try it when you visit Nairobi, am sure you'll love it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank going2kenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethlehem
Level Contributor
66 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“No complaints”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Great great great great cake and milkshake and the salad too. Love meeting friends and family here very mature patrons.

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank atotijaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Good mocha”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This java house has been around for a while and I still feel fresh walking into it everytime. Whether it's to have my coffee to go or just hangout, strike a business deal etc. Great service and I love the 'dawa' and their salads.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rose_G322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nairobi Java House Downtown also viewed

 
Kisumu, Nyanza Province
 

Been to Nairobi Java House Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing