We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Aninje” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hennessis Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hennessis Hotel
Ranked #54 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Nairobi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Aninje”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Right from the time you enter the hotel the reception is good security is been taken care of i met a gentle man and a lady who were doing the search and this really encouraged me.....the ladies at the reception and the staff at the restaurant were very friendly and had very tasty pork chops. Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Superior rooms have got a mini bar and coffee makers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ann N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    13
    7
    2
    5
See reviews for
3
7
3
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

@this hotel,i felt like an actor, i got what i wanted,had magazines to kill time at the reception area i had a mini refrigerator to put my stuff, bout my sleep "the most sleeping influence factor is the mattress quality, sleeping on a sagging mattress puts the back in an unbalanced, stressful position that can cause problems to develop. a good mattress is firm,not too hard, and the bed should also be large enough to allow freedom of changing positions" and that is exactly what i got, the bar was well stocked especially with south African wines my spouse favourite and chile my favorite, and a state of the ART restaurant .

Room Tip: superior rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank waithanji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nakuru, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

i have always loved to stay at Hennessis until one day when i stayed there and ordered for my breakfast to be brought in very early-at 6:30 as i needed to leave the hotel at 7:00 for a crucial business deal meeting at 8:00. Even despite confirming to the receptionist again at 6:00 and calling the kitchen at 6:15- my breakfast did not arrive. As i was leaving the room at 7:05 is when we met with the waitress bringing in the food. i refused to go back to the room and take the same as i was already late. on getting to the reception,i complained to the manager who hurriedly told the waitress to have the breakfast wrapped for me without my knowledge. when the waitress showed up with the small package in the name of breakfast i could not believe it and refused to carry it. They delayed me at the reception all the while my taxi was waiting trying to plead that i carry the bread they had packed for me. I mentioned that since i was a regular guess there they should give me a discount the equivalent of the breakfast amount- the manager promised to contact me once he had informed his bosses- almost 7 months down the line am still waiting for his call.Needless to say i missed out on a business deal, paid waiting charges on the cab and went without breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ShanillaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

The hotel is nice enough for a brief stay, but it is loud. There is a nightclub at the bottom of the hotel. It stays open until the last person leaves. I was there on a Saturday night, so it was still going on at 2:30 a.m. when I finally left the hotel. There is no way of avoiding the bass.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank j_loder1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Pamplona, Spain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

I stayed there in March 2011 for a couple of weeks. I went to Nairobi for my work and I was traveling with 3 more colleagues. Two of them, who stayed in a separate bedrooms, went through a rather nasty experience. They were just outside the reception smoking a cigarette when somebody among the staff 'invited' them to have a drink in the bar downstairs while somebody else would take pictures of them for advertising purposes. They accepted the invitation gladly, but once they returned to their bedroom after scarcely one hour, they found out that somebody had entered the room WITH A KEY FROM THE HOTEL, since there were no other signs of the robbery. Their laptop, camera and cell phone had vanished. When we contacted the manager of the place, they insultingly suggested that we had no way of proving that those things were indeed there before the 'accident'. They did not apologize for what had happened, even if it was very clear that people among the staff were undoubtedly implicated.To sum up, they were not very empathic and it made us feel quite frustrated. After much negotiation (and much pressure from our partners in Nairobi, I must say), our friends were offered a 1000 euro compensation for the stolen goods.
For the rest, we were quite happy with the place until that happened. The place is new, the rooms were fine (though the safes were portable, if I remember correctly..), clean and spacious (at least the one I stayed in). The restaurant was OK, but the food was not varied at all and I would say not very healthy either.
It's a pity the management is not more competent with their own employees.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank flower039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
128 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

I reviewed this hotel earlier. I returned in August and stayed another 5 days. I wanted to update my review. Most of the rooms do have netting. It seemsthat the only room without netting is the room I stayed in earlier. Still a good value, nice rooms, decent food, and great staff. I will come back again.

The quiestest rooms face the courtyard. They do have some very small rooms but also some larger rooms. Having a clean room with hot water outweighed my wish for a little more space.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cosmic_beancounter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

I stayed here June 2011 and the hotel was nice and clean (especially for the price). The room was very small, but had a window onto the courtyard which was nice and quiet (much better than the Kenya Comfort Inn in that respect). Also the restaurant is nice, but as a single, female Mzungu, the bar was no place for me. I would definitely recommend it for a budget traveler who is visiting the National Museum of Kenya (walking distance). No computers for public use, but the manager let me use his which was very kind.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dirtydirtyretro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Transit Hotel
#48 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 51 reviews
Qaribu Inn
#47 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 20 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
West Breeze Hotel
West Breeze Hotel
#40 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Central Business District
Mvuli Suites
Mvuli Suites
#46 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 20 reviews
Lotos Inn & Suites
#50 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 24 reviews
Hotel Central Park Nairobi
#82 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hennessis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hennessis Hotel

Property: Hennessis Hotel
Address: Along Limuru road | opposite Jamhuri High School, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hennessis Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 3 star hotel in a serine environment.Located at the leafy Parklands just 1 km from the CBD,Hennessis Hotel offers a relaxing atmosphere for a wider selection of clientelle.Our Location and proximity to various tourist attraction sites eg National Museum,Nairobi National Park makes us the first choice for any would be traveller.Coupled with our long history of fine hospitality,we hope Hennessis Hotel will be your number one choice! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Jovago.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hennessis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing