We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Definitely Not a $100 Experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Strand Hotel

The Strand Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Strand Hotel
Ranked #125 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definitely Not a $100 Experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

First, on a positive note, almost to a person, the staff is wonderful! The food was ok.
However, the hotel has some serious problems to address if they want to remain relevant and competitive in Nairobi. The facility is deplorable at best-- doors barely lock, rooms tiny and over-used towels, etc, etc. Wi-fi sketchy a real-downer for folks on business trips. Having stayed in many other facilities in Nairobi over the years, I felt robbed at the Strand Hotel.

Room Tip: The duplex rooms are roomier with more lighting but still not worthy $100. The water is hardly hot...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Adams K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    6
    3
    7
    11
See reviews for
1
6
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torun
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The price for double room does not match the standard. We have paid more than 100 USD for the very small room with small bed. Basically the room seemed to be a single, there was only one pillow and the second towel was brought later. The room and bathroom were not clean enough. Moreover the place was noisy from 6 a.m. and when we wanted to take a shower in the morning... there was no water. Fortunately we found the other hotel very close to the Strand. One-third of the price, more clean and much bigger room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ariel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

kl
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Our group of 5 people stayed here both on arrival in Nairobi and before departure to Dubai. We were on a safari arranged by a local tour company. We stayed in 6 different rooms, and most of the rooms did not have working hot water. Half the rooms had either front doors that could not be locked, or bathroom doors that could not close properly. This hotel needed some major maintenance done soon. This was our worst hotel experience in Kenya over an 8 day period.

Food however was quite good. We had breakfasts and dinners here. The neighbourhood did not look too safe for foreigners to roam around looking for a place to eat.

There is free Wifi, with signal strongest in the reception area or some of the rooms. Several PCs were available for free to access internet.

Service from the staff was enthusiastic and warm.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kc-kl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Have been to The Strand hotel twice now and the experience have had makes one to come back over and over again...there is serenity and privacy in their rooms, The food is exquisite, samptuos and pre pared in an open kitchen concept , staff are warm to be around offering the best service and attention to details. I love their resident lounge which is cozy and serves local and international beverages.
They have a plus in terms of location being located a few minutes from the Nairobi City Centre and the airports which makes it a wonderful location for both local and international tourists as well as the business traveler.
Another plus is their office at the International airport which facilitates transfers to and from the hotel at very discounted rates and service is professionally executed with their branded shuttles and helpful staff. Keep it up will be back soon.

Room Tip: room with a bacony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robert b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We misses our flight at Jomo Kenyatta international Airport to Dubai due to bad weather from the coastal region and we were recommended and book at at The Strand Hotel by the local airline because as they put it, "its a budget hotel offering 4 star services and conveniently located on the main highway neat the airport".We were taken to the hotel office at the airport located at the international arrivals lobby n received by the hotel representative who called the hotel shuttle for $ 20 one way and in no time was headed to the hotel which took us approx 15 minutes.though located in a residential area, the hotel is clean,and the staff at the reception were warm and friendly. The rooms are clean, well spacious with all the amenities and YES i had WIFI internet in the comfort of my room for free. The restaurant was neat n what caught my attention was that they have an open kitchen concept and you could see your food being prepared as was our case since we ordered from the menu.Food was delicious and buffet breakfast was good as well. we even had a beer at their resident lounge as we watched the olympic games.My friend room had a bacony though nothing to sewe since all neighbourhood is a quite residential area.Trip back to the airport too us 20 minutes since it was peak hour but all in all we had a wonderful stay at the hotel and would not have asked for better for USD $ 85 for the services i got at the strand hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony and try their pork chops
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shepherd n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Nice place to stay. Was in Nairobi for 4 days and stayed in one the deluxe rooms. good food clean room and friendly staff. the hotel picked me up for $25 they have a small nice office at the airport. would recommed it to any one travelling to kenya.

Thanks
Manuela - Italy

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank manuela m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Was desperate to find accom during my long layover in Nairobi this week. Recommended by the hotel booking Kiosk at airport. This hotel is in a dirty industrial part of Nairobi - Nairobi west. not really close to airport either. Disgusting tiny room for $ 100. Noisy and looks out onto run down apartment building. Dirty sheets. Filthy bathroom - sink pipe didnt connect to outlet so all the water poured onto the floor -including all the grime trapped in the pipes. Not worth $20!.. and people kept trying to open my door throughout the time I was there. I left and went back to sit at the airport instead.
Dont let them book you a cab either!. extra $$$... "we run a business afterall" was her response!. Tourist TRAP!

Room Tip: Pay a few dollars more.. and get a decent hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeonardCT_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Central Business District
West Breeze Hotel
West Breeze Hotel
#40 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
Hotel Rio
#105 of 156 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 14 reviews
Saab Royale Hotel
#34 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Summerdale Inn
#110 of 156 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 33 reviews
Upperhill Blueberry Hotel
#115 of 156 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 4 reviews
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand Hotel

Property: The Strand Hotel
Address: Gandhi Avenue | Nairobi West, Nairobi 00300, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing