We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful people Great hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of PrideInn Hotel Raphta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
PrideInn Hotel Raphta
Ranked #120 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Pune
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Wonderful people Great hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We chose to stay in this hotel after reading reviews on TA. And I just want to thank everyone who helped with reviews.

This hotel is about 5-6 kms away from extremely busy streets of Nairobi. Plenty of high profile residential places on the same road so cant be called secluded as well. Very peaceful place.

The breakfast they serve is just amazing and food is good too. And to my surprise the price is also economical in the restaurant.

I cant end the review without mentioning one name 'Mohammed' who attended us in restaurant for couple of days. Very polite, very courteous and he made sure our stay there was pleasant.

Even at the reception and at the main gate, staff members were good and friendly.
Next time I am going to Nairobi, I am choosing this one again for sure.

Room Tip: Couple of rooms (110 and 111) are right next to the main gate. However its a quiet road and there wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank varadj83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugen T, General Manager at PrideInn Hotel Raphta, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Varadj,

Thank you very much for sharing your great experience at PrideInn Hotel Raphta. It’s great that you selected PrideInn Hotel and I am glad to read that you found our breakfast amazing and the prices economical. I’m also excited to note that you found our staff very polite and courteous especially Mohamed. I have personally passed on your commendation to him. Our friendly and helpful staff strive to provide warm, welcoming, high I’m also excited to note that you found our staff very courteous and informative. Our friendly and helpful staff strive to provide warm, welcoming, high standard service always, and making your stay with us great. Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word. We definitely look forward to hosting you again.

Yours sincerely,
John Gitau
General Manager Pride Inn Raphta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    35
    21
    14
    8
See reviews for
24
32
14
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

This is an excellent hotel to stop in after a safari (we had a camping safari) for the last night or two in Nairobi. Rooms were very luxurious, clean and tidy. Bed was very comfy. The staff were very friendly and there is a nice restaurant. It was in a secure compound and quiet while we were there.
It is a little way out from the main centre of Nairobi. This is fine if you just want a day to chillax at the end of a trip and a dip in the pool. The hotel do have their own car if you do want to go out and about (we used it for a transfer back to the airport).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kath_Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugen T, General Manager at PrideInn Hotel Raphta, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Kath Andy,

Thank you very much for sharing your great experience at PrideInn Hotel Raphta. It’s great that you selected PrideInn Hotel and I am glad to read that you found our rooms to luxurious,clean and tidy. I’m also excited to note that you found our staff very friendly and the restaurant was nice. Our friendly and helpful staff strive to provide warm, welcoming, high standard service always, and making your stay with us great. Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word. We definitely look forward to hosting you again.

Yours sincerely,
John Gitau
General Manager Pride Inn Raphta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Hi - cant find the other pride inn in Westlands rd, but it seems they are all equally useless. the a/c has one setting - hurricane, the shower water scalded me several times its so hot, the doors slam so load they wake you up, the plugs are loose, internet is weak, alcohol has to be paid separately in cash, and above all, management dont care, AT ALL. Just dont even bother complaining. They expect you to pay no matter how many times they promise to fix things. They are trying but focus on all the wrong things. Food in the restuarant was good tho.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JB_108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmiyah, Kuwait
Level Contributor
176 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed here for just one night during our recent Kenya Trip during the first night. We had booked a double room, an Airport pick-up and a cab booking for our Dinner. Everything was well-arranged for us; the driver was standing at the arrivals gate with our name board, the room was ready, well decorated and stocked with tea-coffee stuff (which we badly needed after our flight & drive). The driver was very courteous and gave us a lot of information about Nairobi. We had a very sound & comfortable sleep plus the early morning breakfast was the perfect way to start a long day ahead! The Hotel ambiance is very serene, beautiful and full of greenery. It's a pity we stayed here just for a night though. I recommend this to everybody looking for accommodation in the peaceful part of Nairobi with excellent service and at a very decent price!

Room Tip: Go for the ground floor room option if you have a lot of luggage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CheontheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugen T, General Manager at PrideInn Hotel Raphta, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Cheon,

Thank you very much for sharing your great experience at PrideInn Hotel Raphta. It’s great that you selected PrideInn Hotel and I am glad to read that you found everything well arranged in our hotel. I’m also excited to note that you found our staff very courteous and informative. Our friendly and helpful staff strive to provide warm, welcoming, high standard service always, and making your stay with us great. Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word. We definitely look forward to hosting you again.

Yours sincerely,
John Gitau
General Manager Pride Inn Raphta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I will give it 2 stars because of the great staff that they have. The facility is neglected since they have another outlet in the city at Westlands.

My company organized for a training there in the month of June 2014, for 3 days and I must say the staff were very friendly, warm and very very helpful. Special mention to chef Peter who had a smile always and helpful in sampling the dishes. Their dessert is really good although it kept running our (juice) because of the number of meetings happening at the grounds.

The swimming pool was dirty throughout our stay and the whole place looks like it needs some facelift. The staff get a 5/5 but the hotel management (facilities) get a 2/5.

Room Tip: Book the hotel at offpeak season since dessert and/or juice will run out
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caleb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Don't stay in room 124 ( very dusty/ no hot water/ toilet is backed up) or 125( too much outside noise) or eat their fish and chips( I have diarrhoea now) that's all I can say.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank FaithJacqueline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I have stayed at the pride inn Lantana and loved it. I expected the same level of service when I stayed at Pride inn Raphta. Service at the restaurant was very slow. It about half an hour for us to get our food. The waiters were helpful but not friendly.
The rooms are old and outdated. The floors are unsightly with no carpets to at least cover poor repair work. The room has no air conditioning and I was so cold I could barely sleep. I.decided to call reception for something extra to keep me warm and I was brought a stained duvet. In comparison to Pride inn Lantana I would say that Raphta is horribly neglected. It is definitely not a place I will visit again any time soon.It urgently needs refurbishment otherwise it does not reflect well on the pride inn brand.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lkimotho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugen T, General Manager at PrideInn Hotel Raphta, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Kimotho,

Thank you very much for sharing your great experience at PrideInn Hotel Raphta. We do appreciate your feedback. PrideInn Hotel Raphta is wholly committed to serve our guests exceptionally and ensure their experience with us is exceeding. I am sad to hear about your experience with your room and the restaurant. Indeed, we encourage our guests to give us feedback so that we’re able to take up immediate corrective action. We have very stringent policies and we ensure our food and beverage service procedures and standards are in place and slow service is definitely not in line with our brand standards. This is something that should have been picked immediately by the restaurant team and is absolutely unacceptable. Please accept my sincere apologies. Be assured that I have personally taken up corrective action to rectify the issue of the slow service and i will ensure it doesn’t occur again. We have been having a few challenges for some of our room but renovations are starting in a month and actually we already have the newly renovated rooms at the front side of the hotel which were fully booked on that day. Accept my sincere apologies and I do hope the next time you come you are going to stay with us and we will have the all the rooms newly renovated. I will pass the positive feedback to Lantana.

Yours sincerely,
John Gitau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
PrideInn Hotel Lantana Suites
#124 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 67 reviews
PrideInn Hotel Westlands
#127 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 96 reviews
The Hotel Emerald
#48 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Central Business District
Mvuli Suites
Mvuli Suites
#50 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PrideInn Hotel Raphta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PrideInn Hotel Raphta

Property: PrideInn Hotel Raphta
Address: Raphta Road | Westlands, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — PrideInn Hotel Raphta 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by pristine gardens and lovely flowerbeds, PrideInn Hotel – Raphta offers a haven where business and pleasure seamlessly blend. The hotel is aptly located on Raphta Road in the heart of Nairobi’s upscale Westlands district and offers exquisite facilities and services tailor-made to suit today’s travelers. DISTANCE -Distance: 0.5 kms from Nairobi’s business district -18 kms from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport -3 kms from Nairobi Railway Station CLIMATE -Warm days: Average 24° C -Cooler nights: Average 12° C -Cold months: June – July -Long rains: March – June -Short rains: October – December ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, ETB, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your PrideInn Hotel Raphta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing