We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A small and delightful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of PrideInn Hotel Raphta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
PrideInn Hotel Raphta
Ranked #120 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A small and delightful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

It is out of the way, in a residential area of Westland, a toney area of Nairobi. I spent three nights there on a business trip, getting a killer good rate via tripadvisor and being interested by the ranking.

Good restaurant, great staff (to a person), comfortable room, strong wi-fi, and a pool (which I did not use). Quiet location, so great sleeping. Refrig in room.

There are limitations. Shower (a good one) but no bathtub. Limited TV channels. No AC or screens on windows, but they did immediately provide me a nice fan when requested. But I was out on business during the day, and there only at night, so I was very comfortable. And no booze there, but you are not far, by taxi, from excellent shopping, so no worries.

For a bit, my passport was lost, and I was looking at the prospect of having to stay three extra nights, until the US embassy opened again. But that did not seem so bad, given this place. And by the way, the staff all put on their thinking caps to help me figure out where it was lost.

On balance, I can't now imagine staying anywhere else in Nairobi.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcCutright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRIDEINN_12, General Manager at PrideInn Hotel Raphta, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear, Mr. MarcCutright, Thanks you so much for a wonderful review, we are delighted to learn that you actually had a good moment in our facility and staff treated you right. We thank you so much for choosing us and making us your first choice in Nairobi. Good luck with the Passport. We are sure to see you soon. Lawrence Kinyua, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    36
    21
    14
    8
See reviews for
24
33
14
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Had called in an booked a room. Spoke with Solomon who said plenty of rooms were available. Asked if he needed a deposit or if I could get a booking reference. He said, the booking is confirmed. Upon arrival, Solomon said he had never spoken to me, there was no booking in my name and that due to a corporate group there was no availability. This is at 10pm. Needed a place on Rhapta road due to nature of work. But eventually ended up at Sankara which was absolutely fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariyah926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I and my partner stayed here for 2 nights after completing 3 day business trip in Nayuki. The hotel is beautiful, the rooms are very old but still very comfortable, restaurant service was reasonably good and the receptionists were excellent. we enjoyed the food and the breakfast was great! Most of all, Ezekiel the security manager was extremely good to us, very helpful and polite. Surely a nice place to stay in Nairobi.

Room Tip: The rooms in front are renovated and very cosy unlike the spacious ones facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRIDEINN_12, General Manager at PrideInn Hotel Raphta, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Clive, We are honored to read such a review on Trip Advisor. Thank you very much. It is our hope that you will be coming back soon. I will definitely pass your regards to Ezekiel. Lawrence Kinyua, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I stayed in this property earlier in 2011. This time last month it was a disappointment. They were reluctant to give new rooms and made us occupy the older rooms which are actually apartments with a kitchen and sitting area. The TVs belong to an era and they have no channels except a couple of sports ones... the staff are cordial however looks like a parallel management runs may be in absence of proper monitoring of management. In restaurant, the breakfast spread is nothing much and most of the times you would not find the steak you would like to order. You have much better options available hence shifted to another place after two nights stay. The rooms are very noisy.

Room Tip: Ask for the new rooms which are on the right side of the entrance to the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aliviabiswas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumias, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Being my third time to this hotel, It has become my second home. Very warm staff, nice meals and unmatched environment. one of those places in Nairobi you can will enjoy open area with grass.
The menu has improved and the rooms given a face lift. I thank the management for considering and implementing guests concerns.

Room Tip: New deluxe rooms are modern and cosy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRIDEINN_12, General Manager at PrideInn Hotel Raphta, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
We are honored to learn that you liked our facilities. Thanks a lot and we do hope to host you again soon. Lawrence Kinyua,General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benoni, South Africa
Level Contributor
173 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Stayed here for three nights for business purposes. A good little Hotel to use for a short stay. Staff is super friendly and helpful. At some stage the assistance was overpowering!
Food selection amazing and the variety was excellent.
I really enjoyed my stay here and can recommend it!
View from my room not so good, but I did not spend so much time there!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HermanK449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

The staff were very friendly! I was put in a temporary room as I arrived earlier. It was alot dearer than the room I booked but they let me stay in there, which was very kind. They couldn't do enough to help and assist!

The pool area is fantastic! I didn't try the restaurant, however the room service was very good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
PrideInn Hotel Lantana Suites
#124 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 67 reviews
PrideInn Hotel Westlands
#127 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 96 reviews
The Hotel Emerald
#48 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Central Business District
Mvuli Suites
Mvuli Suites
#50 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PrideInn Hotel Raphta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PrideInn Hotel Raphta

Property: PrideInn Hotel Raphta
Address: Raphta Road | Westlands, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — PrideInn Hotel Raphta 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by pristine gardens and lovely flowerbeds, PrideInn Hotel – Raphta offers a haven where business and pleasure seamlessly blend. The hotel is aptly located on Raphta Road in the heart of Nairobi’s upscale Westlands district and offers exquisite facilities and services tailor-made to suit today’s travelers. DISTANCE -Distance: 0.5 kms from Nairobi’s business district -18 kms from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport -3 kms from Nairobi Railway Station CLIMATE -Warm days: Average 24° C -Cooler nights: Average 12° C -Cold months: June – July -Long rains: March – June -Short rains: October – December ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, ETB, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your PrideInn Hotel Raphta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing