We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kazuri Beads Factory

Kazuri Beads Factory
Book In Advance
$90.00*
and up
Giraffe Center, Elephant Orphanage and Bomas of Kenya Day Tour from Nairobi
Ranked #6 of 175 Tours in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
136 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2014

What an awesome place! Well worth the time to visit. So fun to see the workers rolling out beads & spinning bowls! Most of the souvenirs I bought while in Africa came from their gift shop.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GypsyGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    114
    30
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Babylon, New York
Level Contributor
140 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Hand crafted right in Kenya”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

Did some research for a few stops near Nairobi to see the city and some wildlife and found this amazing gem.

Just a quick drive from the city, this amazing place houses a unique tourist and shopping experience. My friend and I were able to tour the bead factory with a guide. Seeing the mud, the hand rolling of various sized beads, all done by local men and women to truly support their community (how can you not love that!), then to see the beads be hand painted and then strung.

Shopping was great! Tons of beads, necklaces, bracelets, earrings and figurines. If you want- my friend asked to choose her beads personally and bring them home to make necklaces for her friends (what a cute party idea for close friends, cool craft and take home souvenir!)

Would I go back? Yes, I would gladly go back and support this great organization. Plus I found their products in other shops around Kenya but I would much rather go see the women and men who work on these amazing crafts themselves.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsKnicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What A Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

This is an absolute gem in Nairobi. The product made by the locals in this facility is both beautiful and amazing. Our guide walked us through the entire process of how the beads and pottery are made. Definitely a must see for anyone visiting Nairobi.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Craig G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
239 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

I really enjoyed this visit. The bead factory was begun in 1975 to provide work for single moms. I spoke with a woman who has worked there 30 years. They work 5 and 1/2 days per week get a fair wage and health insurance. They all get trained at the different stations, making beads, painting beads, firing beads, putting together jewelry, the gift shop so they don't get too bored. I kind of felt bad for the women because they are on display with all these strangers wandering through taking their pictures but I guess it helps pay the bills. It seems like a really awesome program that employs lots of women (and some men). Definitely worth the trip. I also bought some awesome jewelry at really reasonable prices.

http://familyafricansafari.blogspot.com/

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kannnapolis
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simplicity”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

It was fascinating to see the process of making these beads from their initial raw state of muddy clay to spectacular beads and finally uniquely beautiful pieces of jewelry and china!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank aanthony2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kazuri Beads Factory also viewed

 

Been to Kazuri Beads Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing