We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simplicity” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kazuri Beads Factory

Kazuri Beads Factory
Mbagathi Ridge, Karen, Nairobi, Kenya
20 2328905
Website
Improve this listing
Book In Advance
Top Rated
$80*
and up
Day Tour from Nairobi: David Sheldrick Elephant...
Ranked #4 of 140 Tours in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kannnapolis
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simplicity”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

It was fascinating to see the process of making these beads from their initial raw state of muddy clay to spectacular beads and finally uniquely beautiful pieces of jewelry and china!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank aanthony2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    107
    27
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“An important project ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

This place is definitely worth a visit - the Kazuri project helps about 340 women (most are single parents) take care of themselves and their children, financially speaking. In addition to that, this factory makes amazing works and has a great shop in which most of their beautiful products can be bought.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
217 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A shopping highlight in Nairobi and a great place to buy gifts.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I visited the Kazuri factory on an organised tour. What a trip! We received information on the origins of the factory and were given a tour of several buildings that showed the bead making process from start to finish. It was great to talk to the local artists and watch them at work - and even have a go at putting holes in some of the beads! The shop located on the premises was a jewellery shoppers dream! There are hundreds of necklace and earring designs to choose from and the hand-made brightly coloured designs are beautiful.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maddy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

What a fabulous place! My sister and I recently visited and certainly supported the local economy! The tour was fun and informative. By the time you get to the shop, you want to support all these single parents working there. Kudos to Kazuri Beads for how they are supporting the people of Kenya.

You are spoiled for choice with the beads.... and we should have had someone hold onto our wallet so we didn't spend so much... lol!

The beads are great quality and so colorful. I ended up buying a lot and using them for gifts... a good present that doesn't take up much room. And every time I wear them here, I get compliments galore! There are also a few other things... some hand made little pottery animals and some wonderful plates, etc. Too bad I didn't have room to bring any of the dishes back!

Definitely worth the trip.... a must see in my book!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank joolzmir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Take you time to tour the factory to see how these beads are all hand made and the colours are amazing after they are fired. This business was sent up to give single mother employment and you can now find these beads all around the world.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mowaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kazuri Beads Factory also viewed

 

Been to Kazuri Beads Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing