We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Beads” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kazuri Beads Factory

Kazuri Beads Factory
Mbagathi Ridge, Karen, Nairobi, Kenya
20 2328905
Website
Improve this listing
Book In Advance
Top Rated
$80*
and up
Day Tour from Nairobi: David Sheldrick Elephant...
Ranked #4 of 140 Tours in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Tunkhannock, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
129 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beads”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is a great service to local women. I liked that it provided a skill learning for otherwise unskilled women.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Upstatelakelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    107
    27
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Hope to visit again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We had a free day in Nairobi before our Kenya/Tanzania Safari. A friend who had recently been to Nairobi insisted I include this on our free day so we organized it through our Safari Company.

I’m so glad we did visit the Kazuri Bead Factory – it was not at all what I had expected – it was a great visit!

It’s a very small factory where you get a short tour that goes through the whole process of how the beads are crafted and you actually see the local Woman in their various processes of making them.

The beads are just beautiful and the factory supports local Woman from villages, some who are single mothers who need employment.

After the very interestingshort tour, you can visit the showroom if you wish to look at the beads for purchase. We did of course and there was no pressure at all!

For me, it was a great place to purchase a lovely souvenir of Kenya – the beads were just lovely and were great value!

My only mistake – I did not purchase enough! It was our first day in Africa and while I saw other lovely things during my African holiday, I always regretted not purchasing more Kazuri bracelets to bring home – they were my favourite purchase!

I would suggest enough time to visit the factory and then have time to browse the showroom - at least one hour to one and half hour depending on where you have to go next.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank CatchtheTradeWinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beads”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

It was nice to see how these gorgeous beads are manufactured...great experience for all ages. The gift shop had beautiful items but a bit pricy. I liked the fact that they can ship their merchandise abroad Yay!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Junnette N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beads and more beads”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

If you want to buy beads from the factory, and see how they are made then go here. It is the place where most of the local beads are made and does a good job providing not only work but support for the local population who are disable in some way.

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Can Tho, Vietnam
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Want to spend Lots of Money!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This place provides single mothers with the opportunity to earn fair money for fair work and gives them and their immediate family free medical care. They produce beautiful handcrafted ceramic jewellery and other pottery, as well as bags and a some other items. We got a tour of the factory and then went to the shop which is packed with lovely things. Unfortunately I had my visa card with me - bad mistake! But I love everything I bought and I'm not sure how I'll part with some of it when I get home and show my sisters.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank disclockdisey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kazuri Beads Factory also viewed

 

Been to Kazuri Beads Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing