We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Converted steak lover” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seven Seafood & Grill

Seven Seafood & Grill
Ranked #32 of 512 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Already considered to be Nairobi's premier steak and seafood destinations, Seven's distinctive and innovatively designed restaurants offer a sumptuous selection of the finest Indian Ocean seafood and the finest cuts of locally produced beef aged on site in a glass, humidity controlled meat rooms. A mouth-watering array of oysters, lobsters, prawns and ocean fish are delivered daily, freshly prepared and accompanied by Seven's signature sauces. Meat lovers are well catered for, with exclusive, hand-selected cuts of Kenya's finest beef that have been carefully aged and butchered in house. Reviewed as the best in town, indulge in one of Seven's decadent desserts to complete Nairobi's most unique dining experiences.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Converted steak lover”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

A New York Sirloin Steak never tasted so so good. Ambiance is divine with a minimalism touch yet tastefully done. Service can be a bit slow though but i want to assume on both occasions
is was because it was house full

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    113
    31
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
343 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Surprised by the quality of food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

I was invited for dinner by my business partners at this restaurant. My expectations were not so high given this was my first visit to Nairobi but I have to admit that the food was superb. The menu is quite creative and the dishes I tried were excellent.
This seems to be a popular place in town and the restaurant was busy. Service was efficient and friendly.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TequilaPepita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
117 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Outstanding restaurant by any international standards”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Truly one of the best fish restaurants I have visited but have no doubt their meat dishes are as excellent.

Fabulous fresh-catch specials of the day served with audacious flavours and great presentation.

Ambience very cool, and a good mix of locals and expats.

Waiter was excellent and despite being busy was easy to get their attention for refills.

Good international wine list as well.

It is mid to upper priced but as always it depends on the wine you choose and how many bottles, because the food alone is reasonable for a very, very nice place.

I would come here regularly if I lived in Nairobi and will definitely come back when visiting again later in the year.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christopher Ber... E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Perfect Date”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

After watching the Bush Larder, I became a great fan of the chef & had to try his restaurant. It didn't disappoint. We had the Ocean platter & enjoyed the different fish, especially the octopus.
It is rather pricy but the food was a lot, we had leftover to carry.
Love the ambience, the service was perfect & the waiters were well informed. It has been a while since I had such great service at a restaurant. The only negative was the tea we had was bogus.
I am definitely going back. Love it:-)

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lexxvidic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Probably the best place in Nairobi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Yup, seafood it does and do it well it does. Not cheap but then this is for special occasions, that said 6 of us ate (cocktail to start, starter, main & dessert + wine) for GBP300. Nothing on the menu is bad...all good...just go and enjoy.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NaughtyBeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seven Seafood & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Seven Seafood & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing