We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Surprised by the quality of food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seven Seafood & Grill

Seven Seafood & Grill
Abc Place | Waiyaki Way, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 737 776677
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 463 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Already considered to be Nairobi's premier steak and seafood destinations, Seven's distinctive and innovatively designed restaurants offer a sumptuous selection of the finest Indian Ocean seafood and the finest cuts of locally produced beef aged on site in a glass, humidity controlled meat rooms. A mouth-watering array of oysters, lobsters, prawns and ocean fish are delivered daily, freshly prepared and accompanied by Seven's signature sauces. Meat lovers are well catered for, with exclusive, hand-selected cuts of Kenya's finest beef that have been carefully aged and butchered in house. Reviewed as the best in town, indulge in one of Seven's decadent desserts to complete Nairobi's most unique dining experiences.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
321 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Surprised by the quality of food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I was invited for dinner by my business partners at this restaurant. My expectations were not so high given this was my first visit to Nairobi but I have to admit that the food was superb. The menu is quite creative and the dishes I tried were excellent.
This seems to be a popular place in town and the restaurant was busy. Service was efficient and friendly.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TequilaPepita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    109
    30
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
Level Contributor
117 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Outstanding restaurant by any international standards”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Truly one of the best fish restaurants I have visited but have no doubt their meat dishes are as excellent.

Fabulous fresh-catch specials of the day served with audacious flavours and great presentation.

Ambience very cool, and a good mix of locals and expats.

Waiter was excellent and despite being busy was easy to get their attention for refills.

Good international wine list as well.

It is mid to upper priced but as always it depends on the wine you choose and how many bottles, because the food alone is reasonable for a very, very nice place.

I would come here regularly if I lived in Nairobi and will definitely come back when visiting again later in the year.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christopher Ber... E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Perfect Date”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

After watching the Bush Larder, I became a great fan of the chef & had to try his restaurant. It didn't disappoint. We had the Ocean platter & enjoyed the different fish, especially the octopus.
It is rather pricy but the food was a lot, we had leftover to carry.
Love the ambience, the service was perfect & the waiters were well informed. It has been a while since I had such great service at a restaurant. The only negative was the tea we had was bogus.
I am definitely going back. Love it:-)

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lexxvidic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Probably the best place in Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Yup, seafood it does and do it well it does. Not cheap but then this is for special occasions, that said 6 of us ate (cocktail to start, starter, main & dessert + wine) for GBP300. Nothing on the menu is bad...all good...just go and enjoy.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NaughtyBeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“phenomenal seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Having lived in Nairobi most of my life, I know that seafood options have always been iffy. So I (sadly, and shamefully) usually wait for holidays away to really go into seafood. Seven has changed all this-- the food is fantastic!!! It's a great place- the ambiance is good, and the service is wonderful; and of course, the food is out of this world!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tallash K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seven Seafood & Grill also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Seven Seafood & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing