We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite "Bush Larder"....”

Seven Seafood & Grill
Ranked #32 of 564 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: American, African, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Already considered to be Nairobi's premier steak and seafood destinations, Seven's distinctive and innovatively designed restaurants offer a sumptuous selection of the finest Indian Ocean seafood and the finest cuts of locally produced beef aged on site in a glass, humidity controlled meat rooms. A mouth-watering array of oysters, lobsters, prawns and ocean fish are delivered daily, freshly prepared and accompanied by Seven's signature sauces. Meat lovers are well catered for, with exclusive, hand-selected cuts of Kenya's finest beef that have been carefully aged and butchered in house. Reviewed as the best in town, indulge in one of Seven's decadent desserts to complete Nairobi's most unique dining experiences.
Nairobi
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not quite "Bush Larder"....”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

After watching a cookery show called "Bush Larder" featuring the chef, Kieran from Seven, we excitedly made a dinner reservation. We were somewhat disappointed that none of the dishes that are showcased on the show feature on the menu, not even as specials. We had hoped for something local/Kenyan. That said, the food was bloody tasty!!!! Great presentation and the waiters are knowledgeable and friendly! Great evening out.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Chansa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    124
    36
    19
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“yummy fresh seafood”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We have eaten here a few times since moving to Nairobi. The food is incredibly fresh, delicious seafood from the Indian Ocean (highly recommend the slippery lobster, amazing). Service is always on the money. Adjoining bar is super fun as is Mercury Lounge a few doors down. Make sure to call and make a reservation as they are always pretty busy.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KatGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Saturday lunch at Seven”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Another tantalizing meal at Seven, have been several times but finally got round to writing this. Seven has a great atmosphere and having been there in the evenings on a couple of occasions I must say I love the atmosphere and of course the cocktails. I would safely say Seven does the best cocktails in Nairobi. The Mojitos are the best, try the strawberry Mojito, very nice.
For our lunch, I had the lime and ginger juice, can't say I was too impressed with that, then came the food, the asparagus and Brie tartlet was divine and just melted in your mouth, my husband had the goats cheese starter on a bed of beetroot again fantastic. For the main I had the open ravioli with spinach and butternut which was good but not as amazing as the starter. My husband had the Mediterranean panini which was also good. Seven has a separate lunch menu, it would be nice to have a veg burger, or a quiche with salad on it. I must admit being vegetarian this is not the best choice of restaurants as it geared more towards seafood which my friends claim is excellent. I would suggest to the chef, for us vegetarians who enjoy coming to Seven for the atmosphere, cocktails and company, it would be nice if they varied the menu a little, maybe have a different vegetarian special. Other than that a most enjoyable experience and a great place to spend time with good friends.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Twiga6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Over-rated”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Disgusting inconsistent food. I do not understand why some people like it. The non-seafood dishes are a disappointment for sure.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Can't wait for my next visit!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

A beautiful restaurant with a great atmosphere! The food was amazing and the menu tantalised every taste bud! The staff were friendly and efficient and the owner was at hand to meet guests and ensure both the food and service were to the highest of standards! We will definitely be returning!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephdg86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seven Seafood & Grill also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Seven Seafood & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing